Page Title

Themes

The FPB’s studies cover 11 main themes: Energy, Environmental economic accounts and analyses, International economy, Labour market, Macroeconomic forecasts and analyses, Public finances, Sectoral accounts and analyses, Social protection, demography and prospective studies, Structural studies, Sustainable development, Transport.

Foresight and realisation of the long-term vision on sustainable development

Contact

  • http://sustdev.plan.be

Make the global Sustainable Development Goals real [19/12/2017]

The 2017 Federal Report on Sustainable Development takes as its starting point the Sustainable Developments Goals (SDGs) adopted at the UN. The report assesses 34 indicators showing the evolution of Belgium towards the SDGs and examines the gap between existing scenarios and the SDGs in 3 areas: poverty, energy and transportation. Current developments usually go in the right direction, but most often lag far behind the quantified objectives

Make the global Sustainable Development Goals real - Sustainable development Report 2017  [19/12/2017]

The 2017 Federal Report on Sustainable Development takes as its starting point the Sustainable Developments Goals (SDGs) adopted at the UN. The report assesses 34 indicators showing the evolution of Belgium towards the SDGs and examines the gap between existing scenarios and the SDGs in 3 areas: poverty, energy and transportation. Current developments usually go in the right direction, but most often lag far behind the quantified objectives.

Contact

  • http://sustdev.plan.be

The 1997 law on the coordination of the federal policy for sustainable development commissioned the FPB to regularly publish in its Federal reports on sustainable development “a foresight showing the expected evolution in regard to the developments at the European and international level and presenting alternative scenarios for sustainable development to reach the targets outlined in the long-term vision”. The long-term vision, adopted by the federal government in May 2013, includes the long-term objectives (2050) the federal government pursues.

Alternative scenarios for sustainable development. The two scenarios for sustainable development published in the 2015 Report both assume the realisation of a set of sustainable development goals by 2050, but they differ in the distribution of the key roles to producers or consumers. In the SET-Consumption scenario (SET refers to socio-ecological transition, the necessary social and ecological transition), consumers drive the change and producers follow. In the SET-Production scenario, the producers take the initiative and drive the consumers. In both cases, they are supported by the public authorities.

The scenarios are explorations of a future in sustainable development. They are by no means to be viewed as outlooks or plans. Preparing such scenarios allows fuelling the democratic debate on the wanted societal development and shows that it is possible to mark out pathways to a plausible vision for 2050 in agreement with the principles of sustainable development.

Backcasting and objectives of sustainable development. In general, foresight helps the federal government and the civil society develop an idea on the wanted evolution and on measures to attain their objectives. In that manner, they contribute to the societal debate on which development pathway to choose. There are numerous foresight and participation methods. Since 2003, the FPB's TFSD has been innovating by studying and combining existing methods in order to apply them on sustainable development.

A backcasting approach was chosen to elaborate the sustainable development scenarios for the Federal reports. Such an approach presupposes a wanted future, e.g. in 2050, and its description based on a long-term vision issued from from a scientific and participatory process. The vision, discussed in expert panels, contains a series of objectives founded, among others, on international commitments for sustainable developments (e.g. a vision on sustainable development was adopted by the federal government in 2013).

The next step consists in examining the possible pathways to attain that wanted future in 2050 (see: Onze consumptie en productie houdbaar maken. Rendre nos consommations et nos productions soutenables. Federal report on sustainable development 2015, p. 64). Each scenario which was elaborated in the backcasting approach presents a pathway to attain the wanted future in the long term, starting from the current situation.

  The last five press releases [More]

  The last five databases [More]

  • No records

  The last five publications [More]

Contact

  • http://sustdev.plan.be
Please do not visit, its a trap for bots

Page Title

Thématiques

Les études réalisées par le BFP sont essentiellement articulées autour de 11 thèmes principaux : Comptes et analyses environnementaux, Comptes et analyses sectoriels, Développement durable, Economie internationale, Energie, Etudes structurelles, Finances publiques, Marché du travail, Perspectives et analyses macroéconomiques, Protection sociale, démographie et prospective, Transport.

Prospective et réalisation de la Vision à long terme en matière de développement durable

Thème parent

Contact

  • http://sustdev.plan.be

Concrétiser les objectifs mondiaux du développement durable [19/12/2017]

Le Rapport fédéral sur le développement durable 2017 part des Objectifs de développement durable (SDG) de l’ONU. Il fait le bilan de 34 indicateurs montrant l'évolution de la Belgique vers ces SDG, puis examine l'écart entre des scénarios existants et les SDG dans 3 domaines : la pauvreté, l’énergie et le transport. Les évolutions actuelles vont en général dans la bonne direction, mais sont le plus souvent loin d’atteindre les objectifs chiffrés.

Thème parent

Contact

  • http://sustdev.plan.be

La loi de 1997 relative à la coordination de la politique fédérale de développement durable a confié aux Rapports fédéraux sur le développement durable, du BFP la mission de publier régulièrement “un exercice de prospective présentant les évolutions prévues eu égard aux développements aux niveaux européen et international et contenant des scénarios de développement durable alternatifs pour atteindre les objectifs de développement durable fixés dans la vision à long terme” arrêtée par le gouvernement fédéral en mai 2013. Cette vision fédérale contient les objectifs à long terme (2050) poursuivis par le gouvernement fédéral.

Scénarios de développement durable alternatifs. Les deux scénarios de développement durable publiés dans le Rapport 2015 ont en commun le fait de réaliser un ensemble d'objectifs de développement durable en 2050. Mais ils diffèrent par la répartition des rôles moteurs joués respectivement par les producteurs et les consommateurs. Dans le scénario appelé SET-Consumption (l’abréviation SET fait référence à Socio-ecological transition, la transition sociale et écologique nécessaire), ce sont les consommateurs qui donnent l’impulsion du changement et entraînent les producteurs. Dans le scénario appelé SET-Production, ce sont les producteurs qui donnent l’impulsion du changement et entraînent les consommateurs. Ils sont soutenus dans les deux cas par les pouvoirs publics.

Ces scénarios sont des explorations d’un avenir en développement durable; il ne faut en aucun cas les considérer comme des prévisions ou des plans. Préparer de tels scénarios permet de nourrir le débat démocratique sur le développement souhaité de la société et de montrer qu’il est possible de tracer des chemins vers une vision 2050 crédible et conforme aux grands principes de développement durable.

Backcasting et objectifs de développement durable. De façon générale, la prospective aide le gouvernement fédéral et la société civile à se faire une idée du développement souhaitable et des mesures à envisager pour atteindre ses objectifs. Elle contribue ainsi au débat sociétal sur le choix des voies de développement. Il existe de nombreuses méthodes de prospective et de participation. La TFDD du BFP a innové dès 2003 en étudiant les méthodes existantes et en les combinant pour les appliquer au développement durable.

C’est ainsi qu’une approche de backcasting a été choisie pour élaborer les scénarios de développement durable des Rapports fédéraux. Une telle approche consiste à prendre comme point de départ un avenir souhaitable, par exemple en 2050, et à le décrire sur la base d’une vision à long terme issue d’un processus scientifique et participatif. Cette vision, discutée dans des panels d’experts, comporte une série d’objectifs basés notamment sur les accords internationaux concernant le développement durable (une vision de développement durable a par exemple été adoptée par le Gouvernement fédéral en 2013).

L’étape suivante consiste à examiner les chemins possibles pour atteindre cet avenir souhaitable en 2050 (cf., Rendre nos consommations et nos productions soutenables, Rapport fédéral sur le développement durable, 2015, p. 64). Chaque scénario construit dans le cadre de cette approche de backcasting propose un chemin pour atteindre, à partir de la situation actuelle, cet avenir souhaité à long terme.

Thème parent

Contact

  • http://sustdev.plan.be
Please do not visit, its a trap for bots