The institution

Mission

The FPB is an independent public agency which forecasts, studies and analyses policy measures. Its main mission is to support the political decision-making process. For that purpose, it shares its expertise with the government, parliament, social partners and national and international institutions. The FPB carries out studies and projections on economic, social and environmental policy issues and on the integration of these policies within a context of sustainable development.

Activities

Forecasts

  • Short-term economic forecasts, used by the federal government to draw up its budget
  • Outlooks for the Belgian economy over a 5-year period. These outlooks analyse in particular the future of the main branches of industry, employment and public finances.
  • Long-term projections of the demographic evolution of our society and of the financial impact of population-ageing
  • Energy consumption and production outlooks, as well as forecasts of greenhouse gas emissions
  • Long-term outlooks for transport demand for passenger and freight transport.

Analyses

  • Ex ante and ex post analyses of the economic and social effects of policy measures such as the pen-sion reforms, of shocks such as the increase in oil prices and of macroeconomic or structural trends such as the acceleration of technological progress
  • Analyses of the impact of European energy and climate policy on the energy system and on the Belgian economy
  • Ex post analyses of the challenges and strategies for sustainable development
  • Alternative scenarios for sustainable development to reach the objectives fixed in the long-term vision adopted by the federal government

Research

  • Economic, social and environmental indicators, as well as statistical descriptions of the Belgian economy such as input-output tables, environmental accounts and mobility and transport indicators
  • Decision-making tools supporting the federal mobility and transport policy
  • Topical themes in collaboration with Belgian and foreign research institutions as well as participa-tion in the activities of international organizations such as the European Commission, the OECD, the IMF and the UN.

Who are we for?

Most of the FPB’s activities are legally defined. Other studies are carried out at the request of the government, social partners and parliament. The FPB can also undertake projects at its own initiative within the framework of research contracts or conventions with third parties. The FPB publishes the results of its studies, ensures their dissemination and thus contributes to the democratic debate.

How?

The FPB adheres to an approach characterized by independence, transparency and the defence of the general interest. It uses high-quality data, scientific methods and the empirical validation of analyses.

A brief history

When the FPB was founded on 14 October 1959, it bore the name “Programming Bureau”. Its mission was to develop an economic policy framework, which had been lacking until then, by submitting proposals to the Ministerial Committee for Economic and Social Coordination. In 1970, the Programming Bureau’s name was changed to “Planning Bureau”, in accordance with the law of 15 July of that same year. The economic programmes were replaced with economic plans, marked by a more formalized approach and regional components. From 1980 onward, the Planning Bureau abandoned its former approach and focused on drawing up economic projections and impact studies on different subjects. In 1994, in the wake of the fourth Belgian state reform, the Planning Bureau’s name was once more changed, to the “Federal Planning Bureau”.

 

 Related documents

Organisation

Structure

The FPB is directed by the Plan Commissioner, Philippe Donnay, and the Deputy Commissioner, Jan Verschooten.

The FPB's research is carried out in two departments: the General Directorate and the Sectoral Directorate. The Administrative Department provides administrative support.

The organisational chart of the FPB is available in these PDF files:

The General Directorate

Head of the directorate: Michel EnglertDeputies: Igor Lebrun

The General Directorate works on studies which require a global approach and which focus on macroeconomic coherence. It comprises four teams, with the following fields of activity:

 Macroeconomic forecasts and analyses

Coordinator: Filip Vanhorebeek

This team produces short-term and medium-term economic forecasts for Belgium as well as scenario analyses. The short-term macroeconomic forecasts (for the next 4 to 6 quarters) are drawn up for the federal government within the framework of the preparation of the federal budget and of the budget review. These forecasts are also known as the “economic budget”. Moreover, the team draws up monthly inflation forecasts. The medium-term forecasts (with a time horizon of 5 to 6 years) have a macrosectoral scope and include, besides labour market and public finances analyses, an important energy and environmental component. These projections are drawn up at regional and national level. Finally, the scenario analyses are aimed at assessing the impact of exogenous shocks or economic policy measures.

Related themes

 Labour market

Coordinator: Luc Masure

These studies are specifically aimed at medium-term and long-term outlooks and projections, including the assessment of measures or reforms in the labour market, such as cuts in social security contributions or wage subsidies. They are based on a thorough examination of current evolutions and draw from highly detailed databases.

Related themes

 Public finances

Coordinator: Michel Saintrain

The analyses of this team are mainly aimed at the accounts and budgets of the different levels of government, the financial interactions between those levels, the elaboration of detailed forecasts for public finances and the examination of structural trends in budget policy and public debt. As part of the collaboration between the FPB and the National Accounts Institute, the team contributes to drawing up the government account in the national accounting. Finally, the team also carries out thematic studies on topics such as public employment.

Related themes

 Social protection, demography and prospective studies

Coordinator: Saskia Weemaes

This team’s studies involve outlooks for social protection from a budgetary and social point of view:  the assessment of the budgetary costs of ageing, the calculation of social indicators (poverty, inequality), impact assessments of reforms and the simulation of alternative scenarios for economic and social policy measures. The majority of these activities are based on population projections, which are drawn up annually in collaboration with Statistics Belgium.

Related themes

The Sectoral Directorate

Head of the directorate: Joost VerlindenDeputies: Bart Hertveldt

Sectoral, structural and economic issues are studied within the Sectoral Directorate. Since 1997, sustainable development has also been included.

 Structural studies

Coordinator: Chantal Kegels

A better comprehension of the structural evolutions of the Belgian economy and of its integration in both Europe and the world is essential to identify the key factors in long-term growth. The structural studies tackle, in particular, the sectoral evolution of productivity and its determinants: technology and capital accumulation, innovation and technological development, entrepreneurialism and market functioning. Furthermore, they analyse the effect of Belgian and European regulation, of international trade and of globalisation on economic growth opportunities in the long term.

Related themes

 Sectoral and environmental accounts and analyses

Coordinator: Bart Hertveldt

The input-output tables, the environmental economic accounts and other satellite accounts of the national accounts are drawn up with a view to carrying out sectoral and intersectoral analyses.

Related themes

 Energy and transport

Coordinator: Dominique Gusbin

In addition to drawing up the Belgian energy outlook, this team analyses and studies particular matters pertaining to four main themes: 1) the natural gas and electricity industry, 2) the energy mix, 3) energy prices and 4) energy and sustainable development. For transport, its work includes the construction and management of a database for mobility and transport indicators, and the development and use of a projection model for the Belgian transport demand. As a result of these activities, the evolution of transport and the impact of policy measures are analysed and the transport satellite accounts are drawn up.   

Related themes

 Sustainable development

Coordinator: Alain Henry

The Taskforce Sustainable Development is charged with the assessment of the current situation and the policy pursued for sustainable development. It constructs sustainable development scenarios to reach the objectives fixed in the long-term vision adopted by the federal government in 2013. These activities are carried out within the framework of the law of 5 May 1997 on the coordination of the federal policy on sustainable development and provide the basis for the recurring publication of the Federal Reports on Sustainable Development.

Related themes

The Administrative Department

Head of the department: Jan Verschooten

The Administrative Department provides support activities. It is composed of different cells: informatics, translation, human resources, communication & publication and budget & accounting.

Partners

The FPB has close links with the main national and international institutions for economic analysis and information. It also aims to stay in close contact with all organisations involved in the themes it studies (FPS Mobility and Transport, FPS Social Security, etc.).

As such, the FPB attends committee meetings on a regular basis:

  • on the international level: with international institutions, such as the UN-CSD, the OECD and the European Union;
  • on the national level: with the Central Economic Council (CEC), the National Labour Council, the National Accounts Institute, the High Council for Statistics (HCS), the High Council for Finance, the High Council for Employment, etc.

The FPB is also in close contact with scientific circles as follows:

  • members of the Bureau regularly participate in teaching activities and research programmes;
  • FPB teams cooperate with various universities as part of common national, regional and European research projects;
  • it welcomes high-level university trainees;
  • it involves other experts in FPB activities.

Working Groups and Networks

The Federal Planning Bureau also participates in working groups and networks such as AIECE, ENEPRI, EUKLEMS, HERMREG, NEMESIS and SYMPATIC.

  • AIECE: Association of European Conjuncture Institutes
  • ENEPRI: European Network of Economic Policy Research Institutes
  • EU KLEMS: Productivity in the European Union
  • HERMREG: Multiregional and multisectoral model
  • NEMESIS: New Econometric Model for Environment and Strategies Implementation for Sustainable Development
  • SIMPATIC: Social Impact Policy Analysis of Technological Innovation Challenges
Please do not visit, its a trap for bots

L'institution

Notre mission

Le BFP est un institut public indépendant de prévision, de recherche et d’analyse des politiques publiques. Sa mission première est d’offrir une aide à la décision et, à ce titre, son expertise est mise à la disposition du gouvernement, du Parlement, des interlocuteurs sociaux ainsi que des institutions nationales et internationales.  Il réalise des études et des prévisions  sur des questions de politique économique, sociale, environnementale et examine leur intégration dans une perspective de développement durable.

Champs d’action

Des prévisions

  • des prévisions économiques à court terme utilisées par le gouvernement fédéral pour élaborer son budget ;
  • des perspectives de l’économie belge sur un horizon de cinq ans. Ces perspectives analysent, notamment, l’avenir des grands secteurs d’activité, de l’emploi et des finances publiques ;
  • des études prospectives à long terme décrivant l'évolution démographique de notre société et évaluant les conséquences financières du vieillissement de la population ;
  • des projections de consommation et de production d’énergie à moyen et long terme, ainsi que des émissions de gaz à effet de serre ;
  • des projections à long terme de la demande de transport de personnes et de marchandises. 

Des analyses

  • des analyses ex post et ex ante des effets économiques et sociaux de politiques comme les réformes des pensions, de chocs comme la hausse des prix du pétrole ou de tendances macroéconomiques ou structurelles comme l’accélération du progrès technologique ;
  • des évaluations des impacts de la politique européenne en matière d’énergie et de climat sur le système énergétique et l’économie belge ;
  • des analyses ex post des enjeux, des politiques et des stratégies de développement durable ;
  • des scénarios de développement durable alternatifs pour atteindre les objectifs fixés dans la vision à long terme arrêtée par le gouvernement fédéral en 2013.

Des recherches

  • des indicateurs économiques, sociaux et environnementaux ainsi que des descriptions statistiques de l'économie belge comme les tableaux d’échanges intersectoriels et les comptes environnementaux ou les indicateurs de mobilité et transports; 
  • des outils d’aide à la décision en support à la politique de mobilité et transport ; 
  • une liste et un tableau stratégique d’indicateurs de développement durable ; 
  • des recherches sur des thèmes d’actualité en association avec des institutions de recherche belges et étrangères, ainsi que des contributions aux travaux des organismes internationaux, en particulier la Commission européenne, l’OCDE, le FMI et l’ONU.

Pour qui ?

La plupart des travaux réalisés par le BFP sont définis par des dispositions légales. D’autres font suite à des demandes émanant du gouvernement, des partenaires sociaux et du parlement. Le BFP peut aussi mener des projets de sa propre initiative, dans le cadre de contrats de recherche ou conventions conclus avec des tiers. Il publie les résultats de ses études, veille à en assurer une plus large diffusion et contribue ainsi au débat démocratique. 

Comment ?

Le BFP suit en toutes circonstances une approche caractérisée par l’indépendance, la transparence et le souci de l'intérêt général. Il se fonde sur des données de qualité, des méthodes scientifiques et la validation empirique des analyses.

Un peu d’histoire

Le Bureau fédéral du Plan trouve son origine dans le Bureau de programmation économique, créé le 14 octobre 1959. Celui-ci avait pour mission d’élaborer le cadre de la politique économique, jusqu’alors absente, en soumettant des propositions au Comité ministériel de coordination économique et sociale. En 1970, le Bureau de programmation devient le Bureau du Plan, conformément à la loi du 15 juillet de la même année. Les programmes économiques font place à des plans économiques, caractérisés par une approche plus formelle et comprenant des volets régionaux. À partir de 1980, la planification économique n’étant plus de mise, le Bureau du Plan abandonne cette approche mais pas son nom. Dorénavant, il est chargé d’élaborer des projections économiques et de mener des études dans les domaines socioéconomique et environnemental. En 1994, dans le sillage de la réforme de l’État belge, le Bureau du Plan devient le Bureau fédéral du Plan. 

 

 Documents associés

Organisation

Structure

Le BFP est dirigé par le Commissaire au Plan, Philippe Donnay, assisté par le Commissaire-adjoint, Jan Verschooten.

Les activités de recherche du BFP sont menées au sein de deux départements : la Direction générale et la Direction sectorielle. Par ailleurs, des activités d’encadrement sont réalisées par les Services généraux.

La direction générale

Responsable de la direction : Michel Englert - Adjoints : Marie-Jeanne Festjens et Igor Lebrun

La Direction générale prend en charge les études qui nécessitent une approche à caractère global, centrée sur les cohérences macroéconomiques.

Elle compte 5 équipes, dont les domaines d'activité sont les suivants:

 Prévisions à court terme et conjoncture

Coordinateur : Filip Vanhorebeek

L’équipe élabore des prévisions macroéconomiques à court terme à l’intention du gouvernement fédéral dans le cadre de la préparation du budget fédéral (juin et septembre) et du contrôle budgétaire (février). Ces prévisions (également appelées ‘budget économique’) sont établies sous la responsabilité de l’Institut des Comptes Nationaux. En outre, l’équipe analyse la conjoncture belge et internationale, établit  des prévisions mensuelles d’inflation et développe des indicateurs avancés.

Thématiques associées

 Perspectives et analyses macroéconomiques à moyen terme

Coordinateur : Francis Bossier

Les études ont un caractère macroéconomique et macrosectoriel et comportent une importante dimension énergétique et environnementale. Elles sont menées sur un horizon variant de 4 à 6 ans, voire 10 ans. Elles concernent tant l’élaboration de projections au niveau régional, national ou international que la réalisation d’analyses en variantes destinées à mesurer l’impact de chocs exogènes ou de mesures de politique économique.

Thématiques associées

 Marché du travail

Coordinateur : Luc Masure

Les analyses sont principalement orientées vers la prévision à court terme et les projections à moyen et long terme, comme les évaluations des mesures ou des réformes du marché du travail telles que les réductions de cotisations sociales ou les subventions salariales. Elles sont réalisées à partir d’un examen approfondi des évolutions en cours et en recourant à des bases de données particulièrement détaillées.

Thématiques associées

 Finances publiques

Coordinateur : Michel Saintrain

Le travail de l’équipe porte, notamment, sur l’analyse des comptes et budgets des différents niveaux de pouvoir, l’analyse des interactions financières entre les niveaux de pouvoir, la réalisation de projections de finances publiques détaillées et l’étude des tendances structurelles en matière de politique budgétaire et d’endettement public. Dans le cadre de la participation du BFP à l’Institut des Comptes nationaux, l’équipe contribue à l’élaboration du compte des administrations publiques dans la comptabilité nationale. Elle réalise, par ailleurs, une désagrégation du compte des Communautés et Régions des comptes nationaux. L’équipe effectue également des études thématiques, comme par exemple en matière d’emploi public.

Thématiques associées

 Protection sociale, démographie et prospective

Coordinatrice : Saskia Weemaes

Les études sont axées sur les perspectives d’avenir de la protection sociale, tant d’un point de vue budgétaire que social : estimation du coût budgétaire du vieillissement, calcul des indicateurs sociaux (pauvreté, inégalité), estimation de l’impact de réformes et simulation des scénarios alternatifs de politiques économiques et sociales. Les perspectives de population, qui sont élaborées annuellement en collaboration avec la DGSIE, servent de base à la plupart de ces travaux. 

Thématiques associées

La direction sectorielle

Responsable de la direction : Joost Verlinden - Adjoints : Nadine Gouzée et Bart Hertveldt

Les problèmes avec un contenu sectoriel, structurel et économique sont étudiés au sein de la Direction sectorielle. Depuis 1997, le développement durable est également une des problématiques traitées.

 Etudes structurelles

Coordinatrice : Chantal Kegels

Mieux comprendre les évolutions structurelles de l’économie belge, son insertion dans l’Union euro-péenne et dans le monde est important pour identifier les facteurs clés de la croissance à long terme. Les études structurelles examinent notamment l’évolution sectorielle de la productivité et de ses déterminants : la technologie et l’accumulation du capital ; l’innovation et le progrès technique ; l’entreprenariat et le fonctionnement des marchés. Elles s’attachent aussi à analyser les effets des régulations belges et européennes, du commerce international et de la mondialisation sur les conditions de croissance de l’économie à long terme.

Thématiques associées

 Comptes et analyses sectoriels et environnementaux

Coordinateur et Adjoint au Responsable de la Direction sectorielle  : Bart Hertveldt 

Les tableaux entrées-sorties, les comptes économiques de l’environnement et d’autres comptes satellites des comptes nationaux sont construits à des fins d’analyses sectorielles et intersectorielles

Thématiques associées

Energie et transport

Coordinatrice : Dominique Gusbin

Outre l’élaboration de perspectives énergétiques pour la Belgique, l’équipe effectue des analyses et étudie des questions particulières qui peuvent être regroupées en quatre thèmes: les secteurs du gaz naturel et de l’électricité, le mix énergétique, les prix énergétiques ainsi que l’énergie et le développement durable. Dans le domaine des transports, les travaux de l’équipe englobent la construction et l’exploitation d’une banque de données d’indicateurs de mobilité et de transport, le développement et l’utilisation d’un modèle de projection de la demande de transport en Belgique permettant d’analyser l’évolution des transports et l’impact des politiques et l’élaboration de comptes satellites de transport pour la Belgique.

Thématiques associées

Task Force Développement Durable

En charge des projets de développement durable, Adjointe au Responsable de la Direction sectorielle  : Nadine Gouzée

La Task force est chargée d’évaluer la situation existante et la politique menée en matière de développement durable. Elle élabore des scénarios de développement durable alternatifs pour atteindre les objectifs fixés dans la vision  à long terme arrêtée par le gouvernement fédéral en 2013. Ces travaux sont réalisés dans le cadre de la loi du 5 mai 1997 relative à la coordination de la politique fédérale de développement durable et permettent de publier régulièrement les Rapports fédéraux sur le développement durable.

Thématiques associées

Les services généraux

Responsable : Jan Verschooten

Les services généraux prennent en charge les tâches dites de soutien. Ils sont composés de différentes cellules: la cellule informatique, la cellule traduction, la cellule ressources humaines, la cellule communication & publication et la cellule budget & comptabilité.

 

Partenaires

Le BFP est en contact étroit avec les principaux organismes régionaux, nationaux et internationaux d’information et d’analyse économique. Il est également amené à être en contact avec tous les organismes compétents pour les thèmes qu’il étudie (SPF Mobilité et Transports, SPF Sécurité sociale, etc.).

C’est ainsi que le BFP siège régulièrement dans les comités :

  • d'organismes internationaux, tels que l'ONU-CSD, l’OCDE et l'Union européenne; 
  • au niveau national : du Conseil Central de l'Économie, du Conseil National du Travail, du Conseil Supérieur de la Statistique (CSS), du Conseil Supérieur des Finances, et du Conseil Supérieur de l'Emploi. 

Le BFP noue des contacts étroits avec les milieux scientifiques, notamment par :

  • la participation fréquente de ses membres à des activités d’enseignement et à des programmes de recherche; 
  • la collaboration des équipes du BFP avec différentes universités dans des projets de recherche communs nationaux, régionaux et européens; 
  • l'accueil de stagiaires universitaires de haut niveau; 
  • le recours à des experts. 

 

Réseaux

Le BFP participe  à une série de groupes de travail ou de réseaux tels que : AIECE, ENEPRI, EU KLEMS, HERMREG, NEMESIS et SIMPATIC.

  • AIECE : Association of European Conjuncture Institutes
  • ENEPRI : European Network of Economic Policy Research Institutes
  • EU KLEMS : Productivity in the European Union
  • HERMREG : modèle multirégional et multisectoriel
  • NEMESIS : New Econometric Model for Environment and Strategies Implementation for Sustainable Development
  • SIMPATIC : Social Impact Policy Analysis of Technological Innovation Challenges
Please do not visit, its a trap for bots