International economy

Contact

No records

Contact

The Belgian economy is, by nature, very open. To enable a better analysis of the functioning of the European and the world economy and its effects on the Belgian economy, the FPB has developed two models: the NIME model and the NEMESIS model. Both models are no longer used by the FPB, although developments in the world economy are of course still closely monitored and analysed in the framework of the short-term forecasts and medium-term projections for the Belgian economy.

Methods and tools

The NIME and NEMESIS models are economic annual models that use econometric techniques. The models are developed and implemented on the FPB’s econometric platform IODE.

The NIME model

The NIME model is a world macroeconometric model that has been developed by the FPB. The model was used to produce medium-term outlooks for the world economy and to analyse the transmission mechanisms of economic policies and exogenous shocks.

In the NIME model, the world is divided into six blocs: the euro area, the western EU Member States outside the euro area, the new EU Member States outside the euro area, the United States, Japan and a bloc representing the rest of the world. All these blocs are linked together by trade and financial flows.

In all of these blocs but two - the new EU Member States and the rest of the world - a representative household sector, an enterprise sector, a government sector and a monetary sector are modelled. A similar set of behavioural equations and accounting identities is specified for each of the blocs; the parameter values of the equations are obtained using econometric techniques.

The NEMESIS model

NEMESIS (New Econometric Model for Environmental and Sustainable development and Implementation Strategies) is a macrosectoral econometric model built to aid decision-making in the fields of energy, the environment and economic policy.

NEMESIS was built for two main purposes:

  • the production of short-term and medium-term projections;
  • the analysis of economic policy issues, especially in the fields of the environment and R&D.

The project, co-financed by the European Commission, has been developed by a European consortium that included, the Federal Planning Bureau, SEURECO (Société Européenne d’Economie, Paris, France) and the Institute of Computer and Communication Systems (NTUA - University of Athens).

NEMESIS is a large econometric model incorporating about 288 000 equations and 400 000 variables.

NEMESIS covers the whole of Europe. The rest of the world is divided into ten different geographical areas and is assumed to be exogenous.

The model distinguishes 30 production sectors and 27 consumption functions. The data series are from databases provided by EUROSTAT, OECD and IEA and also from national sources.

Contact

Please do not visit, its a trap for bots

Economie internationale

Contact

Aucun enregistrement

Contact

L’économie belge est très ouverte sur l’extérieur. Pour une meilleure analyse du fonctionnement de l’économie européenne et mondiale et de leurs effets sur l’économie belge, le BFP a développé deux modèles : le modèle NIME et le modèle NEMESIS. Ces deux modèles ne sont actuellement plus utilisés par le BFP, mais l’évolution de l’économie mondiale est toujours suivie de près et analysée dans le cadre des projections à court et à moyen terme de l’économie belge.

Méthodes et instruments

Les modèles NIME et NEMESIS sont des modèles économiques annuels, estimés au moyen de techniques économétriques. Les modèles sont développés et exploités sur la plateforme économétrique IODE du BFP.

Le modèle NIME

Le modèle NIME est un modèle macroéconométrique mondial qui a été développé au BFP pour produire des projections à moyen terme de l’économie mondiale, ainsi que pour étudier les mécanismes de transmission des politiques économiques et des chocs exogènes.

Dans le modèle NIME, le monde est divisé en six blocs: la zone euro, les États membres occidentaux de l’Union européenne hors zone euro, les États membres orientaux de l’Union européenne hors zone euro, les États-Unis, le Japon et le reste du monde. Toutes ces zones sont reliées entre elles par des flux commerciaux et financiers.

Dans tous les blocs, excepté les États membres orientaux de l’Union européenne hors zone euro et le reste du monde, sont modélisés le secteur des ménages, le secteur des entreprises, le secteur public et le secteur monétaire. Un ensemble d’équations de comportement et d’identités comptables semblables sont spécifiées pour chaque secteur des différents blocs ; les coefficients des équations sont estimés au moyen de techniques économétriques.

Le modèle NEMESIS

NEMESIS (New Econometric Model for Environmental and Sustainable development and Implementation Strategies) est un modèle économétrique macrosectoriel, outil d'aide à la décision dans le domaine des politiques économiques, énergétiques et environnementales.

Le modèle NEMESIS est construit pour répondre à deux objectifs majeurs :

  • réaliser des projections à court et moyen terme ;
  • étudier les politiques économiques, en particulier celles relatives à la problématique environnementale et à la R&D.

Ce projet a été partiellement financé par la Commission européenne et développé par un consortium européen composé du Bureau fédéral du Plan, de SEURECO (Société Européenne d’Économie, Paris, France) et de l’Institute of Computers and Communication Systems (NTUA - Université d'Athènes).

NEMESIS est un modèle économétrique de taille importante, d'environ 288 000 équations et 400 000 variables.

Le modèle NEMESIS couvre l'Europe. Le reste du monde, divisé en 10 zones géographiques distinctes, est supposé exogène.

Le modèle distingue 30 secteurs de production et 27 postes de consommation. Les séries sont extraites des bases de données fournies par EUROSTAT, l’OCDE et l’IEA mais sont aussi issues de sources nationales.

 

Contact

Please do not visit, its a trap for bots