Page Title

Find & tools

The FPB offers several tools for searching the website: search engine, sitemap, JEL classification and keywords. In addition, this section also shows information on the use of cookies, our user charter and the possibility to file a complaint.

JEL classification

 JEL GuideHealth, Education, and WelfareHealthGeneral [I10]

 

  • Structurele determinanten van de publieke gezondheidszorguitgaven [30/09/2014]

    This paper presents the models developed at the FPB to project public spending on curative care and long-term care in the medium and long term. The variables explaining curative care spending are income, the age composition of the population, the unemployment rate and technological and medical progress. This variable is approximated using two indicators, the number of new drug approvals (Farmanet data) and the approvals for non-pharmaceutical products (Food and Drug Administration data). With the exception of the latter, all drivers mentioned above increase the cost of curative care. As for long-term care spending, it is explained by income, the proportion of older people in the population and their life expectancy. Long-term care spending is positively impacted by income and ageing. Yet, due to the increase in life expectancy, the impact of ageing shifts gradually towards the oldest age group.

    Working Paper 06-14
     
  • Machines that go ‘ping’: medical technology and health expenditures in OECD countries [29/01/2013]

    While rising health care expenditures as a percentage of national income is a well-known and widely documented feature across the industrialized world, it has proved difficult to quantify the effects of the underlying cost drivers. The main difficulty is to find suitable proxies to measure medical technological innovation, which is believed to be a major determinant of steadily increasing health spending. This paper’s main contribution is the use of data on approved medical devices and drugs to proxy for medical technological progress. The effects of these variables on total real per capita health spending are estimated using a panel model for 18 OECD countries covering the period 1981-2009. The results confirm the substantial cost-increasing effect of medical technology, which may account for at least 50% of the explained historical growth of spending. Excluding the approval variables causes a significant upward bias of the estimated income elasticity of health spending and negatively affects some model specification tests. Despite the overall net positive effect of technology, the effect of two subgroups of approvals on expenditure is significantly negative. These subgroups can be thought of as representing ‘incremental medical innovation’, while the positive effects are related to radically innovative pharmaceutical products and devices. The results are consistent with those reported in other studies which suggest that some new products, despite their high price when they are introduced, can ultimately save money by reducing spending on other medical interventions.

    Working Paper 02-13
     
  • The AGIR project: Ageing, Health and Retirement in Europe - Use of health care and nursing care by the elderly: Data for Belgium [06/09/2003]

    This Working Paper reflects the contribution of the fpb to the second work package of the agir project, work package organized by the German diw. It collects in a first attempt a lot of data to approach the volume and evolution of the use of health and nursing care by the elderly. Yet the authors are well aware of the limitations of the present study which can certainly be improved by more detailed data and refinement of the concepts.

    Working Paper 11-03
     
No records
Please do not visit, its a trap for bots

Page Title

Outils & infos

Le BFP met à votre dispositions quelques outils pour retrouver des informations sur le site : moteur de recherche, carte du site, classification et mots-clés. Par ailleurs, vous trouverez également les rubriques relatives à l'utilisation des cookies, notre charte de l'utilisateur ou la possibilité de formuler une plainte.

Classification JEL

 JEL GuideSanté, éducation et bien-êtreSantéGénéralités [I10]

 

  • Structurele determinanten van de publieke gezondheidszorguitgaven [30/09/2014]

    Cette étude présente les modèles qui ont été développés au BFP en vue de réaliser des projections à moyen et à long terme des dépenses publiques de soins aigus et de soins de longue durée. Les variables explicatives des dépenses de soins aigus sont le revenu, la pyramide des âges, le taux de chômage et le progrès technologique médical. Cette dernière variable est appréhendée par le biais de deux indicateurs, à savoir le nombre d’homologations de nouveaux médicaments (sur la base de données de Farmanet) et de produits non pharmaceutiques (sur la base de données de la " Food and Drug Administration " des Etats Unis). Hormis ce dernier indicateur, il apparaît que tous les déterminants susmentionnés induisent une hausse des dépenses de soins aigus. En ce qui concerne les dépenses de soins de longue durée, les variables explicatives sont le revenu, la part des personnes âgées dans la population totale et l’espérance de vie des personnes âgées. Les dépenses sont influencées positivement par le revenu et le vieillissement de la population, mais l’impact de ce dernier déterminant glisse progressivement vers le groupe d’âge le plus élevé en raison de la progression de l’espérance de vie.

    Working Paper 06-14
     
  • Machines that go ‘ping’: medical technology and health expenditures in OECD countries [29/01/2013]

    Alors que l’augmentation de la part des dépenses de soins de santé dans le revenu national des pays industrialisés est un phénomène bien connu et largement documenté, l’effet des facteurs de coût sous-jacents reste difficilement quantifiable. La principale difficulté est d’identifier des proxies pour mesurer l’innovation technologique médicale et ainsi tester l’hypothèse que celle-ci constituerait un déterminant majeur de l’augmentation continue des dépenses de soins de santé. L’originalité de cette étude consiste à utiliser des données sur les agréments officiels d’équipements médicaux et de produits pharmaceutiques comme proxy pour le progrès technologique médical. Les effets de ces variables sur les dépenses totales réelles de soins de santé par tête sont estimés par le biais d’un modèle appliqué à un panel de 18 pays de l’OCDE sur la période 1981-2009. Les résultats confirment que la technologie médicale contribue largement à l’accroissement des coûts et pourrait expliquer au moins 50% de la croissance historique des dépenses. Exclure ces variables implique un important biais à la hausse de l’élasticité-revenu des dépenses de soins de santé et affecte négativement certains tests de spécification du modèle. Malgré l’effet global positif net de la technologie sur les dépenses, l’effet de deux sous-groupes d’agréments est clairement négatif. Ces sous-groupes peuvent être vus comme représentatifs d’innovations médicales « incrémentales », tandis que les effets positifs sont générés par des produits pharmaceutiques et des équipements médiaux radicalement innovants. Ces résultats sont compatibles avec ceux d’autres études qui montrent que certains nouveaux produits peuvent contribuer - en dépit d’un prix élevé lors de leur lancement - à réaliser des économies puisqu’ils induisent une baisse des dépenses pour d’autres interventions médicales.

    Working Paper 02-13
     
  • The AGIR project: Ageing, Health and Retirement in Europe - Use of health care and nursing care by the elderly: Data for Belgium [06/09/2003]

    Working Paper 11-03
     
Aucun enregistrement
Please do not visit, its a trap for bots