Page Title

Find & tools

The FPB offers several tools for searching the website: search engine, sitemap, JEL classification and keywords. In addition, this section also shows information on the use of cookies, our user charter and the possibility to file a complaint.

JEL classification

 JEL GuideMathematical and Quantitative MethodsEconometric ModelingModel Construction and Estimation [C51]

 

  • Modelling unobserved heterogeneity in distribution - Finite mixtures of the Johnson family of distributions [31/08/2017]

    This paper proposes a new model to account for unobserved heterogeneity in empirical modelling. The model extends the well-known Finite Mixture (or Latent Class) Model by using the Johnson family of distributions for the component densities. Due to the great variety of distributional shapes that can be assumed by the Johnson family, the method does not impose the usual a priori assumptions regarding the type of densities that are mixed.

    Working Paper 14-17
     
  • Projection of internal migration based on migration intensity and preferential flows [20/10/2016]

    This Working Paper presents the projection methodology for internal migration, which is integrated from 2016 in the population projections published by the Federal Planning Bureau and Statistics Belgium. The methodology is based on migration intensity between districts, rather than on emigration rates from one district to another. With migration intensity, not only is the population of the departure district taken into account (population at risk of moving) but also the population of the destination district (as a proxy for attractiveness). The short-term evolution of migration intensity is in line with the most recent trends observed in a series of preferential migration flows between districts. In the long term, migration intensity is assumed to be constant.

    Working Paper 10-16
     
  • Drivers of wholesale electricity prices in a small, open economy - Some evidence from the nuclear restart in Belgium [12/10/2016]

    In this paper, the impact of a nuclear downtime and subsequent restart on wholesale electricity prices on the Belgian power exchange is investigated by means of a dual methodology. First, publicly available market data is used to construct a stable statistical model that is deployed to examine the effect of nuclear power generation variations on market price outcomes. Quantifying this phenomenon, also called the merit-order effect, with the aid of econometric methods translates into an esti-mated price decrease of around 10 €/MWh for a nuclear capacity hike of 2.5 GW. The importance and impact of the openness of the Belgian market, that is, its strong reliance on cross-border energy exchanges is highlighted. Next to this empirical evidence, the optimisation tool Crystal Super Grid is used to assess the impact of the resumed availability of the nuclear reactors on several indicators characterising the Belgian and European power landscape. A positive effect on overall welfare, consumer surplus and CO2 emissions can be noticed. As regards prices, this analysis confirms the negative merit-order effect which is calculated to equal, on average over a year, 3.8 €/MWh. Nevertheless, temporary hourly excesses of 30 €/MWh can occur. The paper then describes the possible causes of divergence between the two approaches.

    Our findings have important policy implications as they demonstrate the need to take the downward influence of prolonged nuclear power generation on wholesale prices into consideration when revising the (timetable in the) nuclear phase-out law since it may have a delaying effect on the compulsory energy transition towards a low-carbon economy.

    Working Paper 09-16
     
  • Modelling the future evolution of international migration for Belgium [18/03/2015]

    This Working Paper presents the methodological progress made in projecting international migration. The new methodology is notably based on an analysis of migration flows per nationality and on statistics on reasons for migrating, in order to assess whether economic variables constitute relevant determinants of migration. If they do, the impact of economic determinants on immigration is estimated using econometric methods. The methodology also takes into account the increasing globalization and mobility as well as the expected growth of the global population which boost international migration flows (immigration and emigration). Finally, it grants more stability to the long-term migration projections and, therefore, to the population projections; the annual revisions of long-term migration will be less dependent on the short-term evolution of migration flows.

    Working Paper 02-15
     
  • Specification and estimation of a dynamic consumption allocation model [24/12/2012]

     This paper presents an allocation model of Belgian household consumption over 23 categories of goods and services. We have formulated and estimated an extension of the classic Almost Ideal Demand System. The original model has been modified by introducing a dynamic adjustment mechanism and by the inclusion of demographic variables. These capture shifts in consumption patterns related to the changing age composition of the population. The paper is an extension of earlier work (Willemé, 2008), in particular with respect to the number and composition of the consumption categories considered.

    Working Paper 15-12
     
No records
Please do not visit, its a trap for bots

Page Title

Outils & infos

Le BFP met à votre dispositions quelques outils pour retrouver des informations sur le site : moteur de recherche, carte du site, classification et mots-clés. Par ailleurs, vous trouverez également les rubriques relatives à l'utilisation des cookies, notre charte de l'utilisateur ou la possibilité de formuler une plainte.

Classification JEL

 JEL GuideMéthodes mathématiques et quantitativesModélisation économétriqueConstruction de modèles et estimation [C51]

 

  • Modelling unobserved heterogeneity in distribution - Finite mixtures of the Johnson family of distributions [31/08/2017]

    La présente étude propose un nouveau modèle pour rendre compte de l’hétérogénéité non observée dans la modélisation empirique. Le modèle élargit le modèle de classes latentes bien connu en utilisant la famille de distributions Johnson. Vu la grande diversité de formes de distribution pouvant être adoptées par la famille Johnson, la méthode n’impose pas les hypothèses a priori habituelles concernant le type de densités qui sont mélangées.

    Working Paper 14-17
     
  • Projection of internal migration based on migration intensity and preferential flows [20/10/2016]

    Ce document de travail présente la méthodologie de projection utilisée pour les migrations internes, qui est intégrée depuis 2016 dans les perspectives de population publiées par le Bureau fédéral du Plan et la Direction générale Statistique. La méthodologie se fonde sur l’intensité migratoire entre arrondissements plutôt que sur les taux d’émigration d’un arrondissement à l’autre. En ce qui concerne l’intensité migratoire, non seulement la population de l’arrondissement de départ est prise en considération (population susceptible de migrer), mais également la population de l’arrondissement de destination (comme proxy de l’attractivité). L’évolution à court terme de l’intensité migratoire poursuit les dernières tendances observées pour les flux migratoires préférentiels entre arrondissements. L’intensité migratoire est supposée constante à long terme.

    Working Paper 10-16
     
  • Marché de l’électricité : facteurs influençant la formation des prix de gros dans une petite économie ouverte - Enseignements tirés de la relance du nucléaire en Belgique [12/10/2016]

    Cette étude analyse, par le biais d’une double méthodologie, l’impact de l’arrêt et du redémarrage de plusieurs réacteurs nucléaires sur les prix de gros de l’électricité sur la bourse belge de l’électricité. Dans la première approche, un modèle statistique stable est construit à partir de données de marché publiées et est ensuite exploité pour examiner les effets des variations de production nucléaire d’électricité sur les prix du marché. La quantification de ce phénomène (également appelé « le merit-order effect ») par le biais de méthodes économétriques a révélé une baisse de prix estimée à 10 €/MWh environ sur une année pour une augmentation de la capacité nucléaire de 2,5 GW. Ces résultats mettent en lumière le degré d’ouverture du marché belge et son corollaire, sa forte dépendance aux échanges transfrontaliers d’énergie. À côté de cette analyse empirique, l’outil d’optimisation Crystal Super Grid a permis d’estimer l’impact de la relance des réacteurs nucléaires sur plusieurs indicateurs du paysage électrique belge et européen. À titre d’exemples, on observe des effets positifs sur le niveau du bien-être général, la rente du consommateur et les émissions de CO2.  Cette analyse confirme l’effet « merit-order » négatif sur les prix, qui est calculé à 3,8 €/MWh en moyenne sur une année. Toutefois, des pics horaires sont observés avec des valeurs pouvant atteindre 30 €/MWh. L’étude décrit ensuite les causes possibles de divergence de résultats entre les deux approches.

    Nos constatations ont des implications importantes pour les politiques à mener. En effet, elles montrent la nécessité de tenir compte des pressions à la baisse exercées par une production nucléaire prolongée d’électricité sur les prix de gros de l’électricité au cas où l’on envisagerait de revoir (le calendrier de) la loi sur la sortie du nucléaire. Ces effets sont de nature à retarder la transition énergétique qui s’impose vers une économie à faible intensité en carbone.

    Working Paper 09-16
     
  • Une modélisation de l’évolution future de la migration internationale pour la Belgique [18/03/2015]

    Ce Working Paper présente les avancées méthodologiques réalisées dans le cadre de l’évolution future de la migration internationale. La nouvelle méthodologie se base notamment sur une analyse des flux migratoires par nationalité et des statistiques relatives aux motifs de migration pour déterminer la pertinence de variables économiques comme déterminant de la migration. Dans l’affirmative, l’impact des déterminants économiques sur l’immigration est estimé à l’aide de méthodes économétriques. La méthodologie tient également compte d’un contexte de mondialisation et de mobilité à la hausse ainsi que d’une croissance attendue de la population mondiale qui favorisent les flux migratoires (immigration et émigration) internationaux. Enfin, elle rend les projections à long terme de la migration, et par conséquent de la population, plus stables ; les révisions annuelles de la migration à long terme seront moins dépendantes de l’évolution des flux migratoires de court terme.

    Working Paper 02-15
     
  • Specification and estimation of a dynamic consumption allocation model [24/12/2012]

    Ce Working Paper présente un nouveau module  d’allocation de la consommation privée des ménages belges, divisant celle-ci en 23 catégories de biens et services. Pour ce faire, nous avons formulé et estimé une extension du système AIDS (Almost Ideal Demand System). Le modèle original a été modifié en introduisant un mécanisme d’ajustement  dynamique et des variables démographiques. Ces variables prennent en compte des glissements dans la consommation  privée suite à des changements dans la structure d’âge de la population. Ce papier  est une extension des travaux antérieurs (Willemé, 2008), notamment concernant le nombre de catégories et la structure d’allocation.     

    Working Paper 15-12
     
Aucun enregistrement
Please do not visit, its a trap for bots