Page Title


The FPB’s studies cover 11 main themes: Energy, Environmental economic accounts and analyses, International economy, Labour market, Macroeconomic forecasts and analyses, Public finances, Sectoral accounts and analyses, Social protection, demography and prospective studies, Structural studies, Sustainable development, Transport.

Specific energy issues




Increasing interconnections: to build or not to build, that is (one of) the question(s) - Addendum to the cost-benefit analysis of adequate future power policy scenarios [28/09/2017]

At the request of the federal Minister of Energy, this report was carried out as a follow-up on the cost-benefit analysis published by the Federal Planning Bureau in February 2017. It constitutes an addendum to the February study in that some additional questions impacting the Belgian production park are scrutinized in detail.




Besides developing energy outlooks for Belgium, the FPB analyses and studies specific questions around four themes, each of which represents an aspect of the vast energy issue:

  • natural gas and electricity sectors;
  • energy mix;
  • energy prices;
  • energy and sustainable development.

These issues are analysed using tools and methods developed by the FPB or by third parties within the framework of research projects.

Natural gas and electricity sectors

Owing to the integration and the reforms of the European natural gas and electricity markets and the issue of energy supply security, those two sectors of our economy have come to the forefront of the political agenda. Whether this involves reforms of the markets or the security of energy supply, the field of investigation goes beyond merely the Belgian framework: the European and international dimensions of the energy sector have to be taken into account.

The FPB’s studies on this issue are very different in scope. Some fit into the general framework of studying reforms in the network industries (see the theme "Structural studies > Belgian and European Regulation"). Other studies deal with very specific problems related to the sectors concerned, such as the impact of a black-out or electric vehicles in Belgium or analysis of the adequacy of electricity production in Belgium.

Since the modification of the Electricity and Gas Laws in 2005 (Belgian Official Journal, June 14, 2005 [Dutch version - French version]), the FPB has been working with the Directorate General for Energy of the FPS Economy, S.M.E.s, Self-employed and Energy, on the elaboration of the Prospective Studies for Electricity and Natural Gas. This collaboration was maintained in the later revisions of the Electricity and Gas Laws (Belgian Official Journal of 19 May 2009 and Belgian Official Journal of 11 January 2012). The Prospective Studies for Electricity (PSE) examine how to match electricity demand and supply in the medium and long term. The Prospective Studies for Gas (PSG) scrutinize the challenges related to the security of the natural gas supply in Belgium.

Energy mix

In a political context of reducing greenhouse gases, developing renewable energy sources and improving energy efficiency, the evolution of the energy mix in the long and even very long run has been the object of specific analyses.

Certain analyses are only focused on Belgium (Impact of the EU Energy and Climate Package and of a 100% renewable energy mix by 2050). Others broaden the research field to the global and European levels (see pdf: WETO H2, WETO 2030).

Energy prices

The FPB analyses the historical evolution of energy prices in Belgium.

It also studies the macroeconomic effects of changes in energy prices, resulting, for instance, from an oil shock or tax measures aimed at reducing the emission of greenhouse gases. To do this, the FPB uses the HERMES model (see the theme "Medium-term macroeconomic projections and analyses > Medium-term forecasting"). Analyses of this kind are produced regularly.

Energy and sustainable development

The energy sector is one of the most important sectors for developing and implementing policy measures towards sustainable development. Within the framework of its activities, the Task Force for Sustainable Development (see the theme “Sustainable development”) studies the interactions between energy and sustainable development and determines the major challenges facing Belgium.



Please do not visit, its a trap for bots

Questions ciblées sur l’énergie

Thème parent

Contact

  • http://energy.plan.be

Indisponibilité nucléaire en novembre [04/10/2018]

Le vendredi 21 septembre 2018, ENGIE, l’exploitant opérationnel des sept réacteurs nucléaires sur le territoire belge, a annoncé que l’unité nucléaire T3 sera à l’arrêt cinq mois de plus que prévu (jusqu’au 1er mars 2019), que l’unité T2 ne sera pas opérationnelle avant début juin 2019 et que l’unité T1 subira un entretien planifié fin octobre. Cette annonce a indubitablement un impact sur le parc électrique belge.

Thème parent

Contact

  • http://energy.plan.be

Outre l’élaboration de perspectives énergétiques pour la Belgique, le BFP effectue des analyses et étudie des questions particulières qui peuvent être regroupées en quatre thèmes, chacun représentant une facette de la vaste problématique énergétique:

  • secteurs du gaz naturel et de l’électricité ;
  • mix énergétique ;
  • prix énergétiques ;
  • énergie et développement durable.

L'analyse de ces questions repose sur des méthodes et instruments développés par le BFP ou par des tiers dans le cadre de projets de recherche.

Secteurs du gaz naturel et de l’électricité

L’intégration et les réformes des marchés européens du gaz naturel et de l’électricité et la question de la sécurité de notre approvisionnement énergétique ont propulsé ces deux secteurs de notre économie au premier plan des préoccupations politiques. Qu’il s’agisse des réformes des marchés ou de la sécurité d’approvisionnement, le champ d’investigation dépasse le seul cadre de la Belgique : il doit prendre en compte les dimensions européenne et internationale.

Les études que le BFP réalise sur ce thème sont de nature très différente. Certaines se placent dans le cadre plus général de l’étude des réformes dans les industries de réseau (voir thème “Etudes structurelles > Régulation belge et européenne”). D’autres s’attachent à des problématiques très spécifiques liées aux secteurs en question, comme par exemple l’impact d’un black-out et des véhicules électriques en Belgique ou encore l’analyse de l’adéquation de la production électrique en Belgique.

Depuis la modification des lois gaz et électricité en 2005 (Moniteur belge du 14 juin 2005), le BFP collabore avec la Direction générale de l’Energie du SPF Economie, P.M.E., Classes moyennes et Energie, à l’établissement des études prospectives gaz et électricité. Cette collaboration est maintenue dans les révisions ultérieures des lois gaz et électricité (Moniteur belge du 19 mai 2009 et Moniteur belge du 11 janvier 2012). Les études prospectives électricité (EPE) ont pour objet d’examiner les possibilités de réaliser l’adéquation entre l’offre et la demande d’électricité à moyen et long terme. Les études prospectives gaz (EPG) analysent les défis pour la Belgique concernant la sécurité d’approvisionnement en gaz naturel.

Mix énergétique

Dans un contexte politique de réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre, de développement des sources d’énergie renouvelables et d’amélioration de l’efficacité énergétique, l’évolution du mix énergétique à long voire très long terme fait l’objet d’analyses spécifiques.

Certaines analyses se focalisent sur la Belgique (impact du paquet Climat-Energie ou d’un mix énergétique basé à 100% sur des sources d’énergie renouvelables en 2050). D’autres élargissent le champ d’analyse aux niveaux mondial et européen (voir fichiers pdf : WETO-H2, WETO-2030).

Prix énergétiques

Le BFP analyse l’évolution historique des prix énergétiques en Belgique.

Il étudie aussi les effets macroéconomiques de variations de prix énergétiques, résultant par exemple d’un choc pétrolier ou d’une fiscalité qui vise la réduction des émissions de gaz à effet de serre. Pour ce faire, le BFP a recours au modèle HERMES (voir thème «Perspectives et Analyses macroéconomiques à moyen terme  > Perspectives à moyen terme»). Des analyses de ce type sont produites régulièrement.

Energie et développement durable

Le secteur de l’énergie est un des secteurs les plus importants pour développer et mettre en œuvre des politiques et mesures visant à promouvoir un développement durable. Dans le cadre de ses travaux, la Task Force développement durable (voir thème “Développement durable”) étudie les interactions qui existent entre énergie et développement durable et identifie les principaux défis auxquels la Belgique est confrontée.

Thème parent

Contact

  • http://energy.plan.be
Please do not visit, its a trap for bots