Page Title

Themes

The FPB’s studies cover 11 main themes: Energy, Environmental economic accounts and analyses, International economy, Labour market, Macroeconomic forecasts and analyses, Public finances, Sectoral accounts and analyses, Social protection, demography and prospective studies, Structural studies, Sustainable development, Transport.

Transport outlook: other projects

Parent

Contact

  • http://transport.plan.be

The cost of traffic congestion in Belgium [06/09/2019]

This paper seeks to quantify the cost of the most important inefficiencies in Belgian transport taxation. To this end we calculate the welfare gain of an ideal, optimal tax/subsidy system across the transport market as a whole (i.e. considering private road traffic in conjunction with public transport). We found the total welfare gain to be 2.3 billion euros, of which 1.3 billion are due to time gains of remaining road users. Our measure lies significantly above those found in the literature, since we consider the distortion cause by a wide range of subsidies.

Parent

Contact

  • http://transport.plan.be

In order to supplement, deepen and increase the value of the research carried out by the FPB in the field of transport outlooks for Belgium, the FPB is taking part in other projects alone or in collaboration with universities or other research institutes.

Regional transport model for Wallonia

In 2014 the Federal Planning Bureau has conducted a feasibility study on a regional model for a prospective diagnosis of the transport demand in Wallonia at the request of the Direction Générale Opérationnelle de la Mobilité et des Voies hydrauliques (DGO2). This study is organized around three main tasks:

  • The identification of data requirements, collection or, where relevant, the construction method for the required data at district or regional level;
  • The identification and the description of parameters subject to regionalization in the national PLANET model;
  • The methodological adjustments necessary to take into account the regional specificities and the geographical breakdown level by district.

PROLIBIC

PROLIBIC is a cluster of four transport research projects (PROMOCO, LIMOBEL, BIOSES and CLEVER) that is financed by the Belgian Science Policy Office as part of the research programme “Science for Sustainable Development – SSD – Transport and Mobility”. The other research partners are the Vlaamse Instelling voor Technologisch Onderzoek (VITO) (www.vito.be) and the MOSI-Transport en Logistiek Department of the Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB) (www.vub.ac.be/MOSI/).

The main objectives of the project are:

  • to gather and combine the knowledge gained within the framework of four research projects: PROMOCO (Professional mobility and company car ownership), LIMOBEL (Long-run impacts of policy packages on mobility in Belgium), BIOSES (Biofuels Sustainable End uSe) and CLEVER (Clean Vehicle Research: Life Cycle Analysis and Policy Measures). It mainly concerns results for transport activities and environmental impact;
  • to elaborate a long-term reference projection (2030) for passenger and freight transport;
  • to estimate the impact of a transport policy package (development of biofuels and of electric vehicles, harmonisation of excise duties on petrol and diesel, road pricing);
  • to study the link between company cars and environmental considerations.

The project was finalised in September 2012. The final report is available on the website of the Belgian Science Policy Office: see website

LIMOBEL

LIMOBEL (Long-run Impacts of policy packages on MObility in BELgium) is a project financed by the Belgian Science Policy Office and carried out under the research programme “Science for Sustainable Development – SSD – Transport and Mobility”. The other research partners are the Transport & Mobility Group of the Catholic university of Mons (www.fucam.ac.be/gtm) and the Vlaamse Instelling voor Technologisch Onderzoek (VITO) (www.vito.be).

The LIMOBEL project aims to develop a framework to:

  • produce long-term transport projections for Belgium;
  • analyse the long-term effects of policy measures on mobility in Belgium;
  • carry out a social cost-benefit analysis of these measures.

LIMOBEL covers three interconnected areas: transport and mobility, energy and environmental issues. Transport offers many advantages but also causes inconveniences such as congestion, accidents and environmental costs. Public intervention is required to address these nuisances and thus make the transport system more sustainable.

LIMOBEL uses two approaches to investigate these issues. The first only covers the transport branch and is thus of the partial equilibrium type. It is dynamic and long-term oriented (up to 2030). In it, three existing models were refined and connected to each other (PLANET, NODUS and E-MOTION). The second approach is of the general equilibrium type, based on interactions between the transport sector and the rest of the economy. In this approach, an applied general equilibrium model for Belgium and its three Regions is used.

The project was finalised in January 2011. The final report is available on the website of the Belgian Science Policy Office (see website).

MOBIDIC

The MOBIDIC Project, or ‘Demography, Geography and Mobility: Long-Term Outlooks and Policies for a Sustainable Development’, is a study financed by the Belgian Science Policy Office within the framework of the research programme ‘Sustainable Modes of Production and Consumption – PADD II’. The other partners of the project are GéDAP (Groupe d’étude de démographie appliquée) for the UCL (Université catholique de Louvain), and GRT (Groupe de Recherche sur les Transports, www.grt.be) for the University of Namur.

The objective of the project is threefold:

  • to analyse the effect of the evolution of geographic, socio-demographic and economic factors on passenger transport flows and modal choice of transport in Belgium;
  • to elaborate long-term projections (2030) for passenger transport between the 43 Belgian administrative districts. To do this, the above factors are taken into account as well as the contribution of each administrative district to the production of transport flows, for each journey purpose and each mode of transport;
  • to evaluate the emissions generated by passenger transport for the outlooks.

The project was finalised in April 2006. The final report is available on the website of the Belgian Science Policy Office (www.belspo.be).

Parent

Contact

  • http://transport.plan.be
Please do not visit, its a trap for bots

Page Title

Thématiques

Les études réalisées par le BFP sont essentiellement articulées autour de 11 thèmes principaux : Comptes et analyses environnementaux, Comptes et analyses sectoriels, Développement durable, Economie internationale, Energie, Etudes structurelles, Finances publiques, Marché du travail, Perspectives et analyses macroéconomiques, Protection sociale, démographie et prospective, Transport.

Perspectives pour le transport : autres projets

Thème parent

Contact

  • http://transport.plan.be

Le coût de la congestion du trafic en Belgique [06/09/2019]

Ce rapport vise à quantifier le coût d’efficacité du système fiscal actuel du transport en Belgique en calculant les gains en termes de bien-être d’un système optimal de taxes / subventions (c’est-à-dire en considérant le trafic routier privé en liaison avec les transports publics). Nous avons estimé que le gain en bien-être total s'élevait à 2,3 milliards d'euros, dont 1,3 milliard de gains en temps pour les usagers de la route. Une partie importante de ce gain provient d’une diminution des distorsions provoquées par un large éventail de subventions.

Un nouveau virage fiscal à amorcer en Belgique ?  [06/09/2019]

La congestion du trafic est l’un des défis majeurs que doivent relever conjointement les gouvernements de notre pays. La fiscalité actuelle du transport, caractérisée par des taxes forfaitaires sur la voiture et des subventions élevées aux voitures-salaires et aux transports publics, n’est plus adaptée à la réalité et mériterait d’être réformée. Le Bureau fédéral du Plan s’est penché sur une réforme fondamentale. Celle-ci introduit une taxe kilométrique intelligente qui aligne parfaitement le système fiscal sur les coûts de congestion et d’environnement.

Thème parent

Contact

  • http://transport.plan.be

Dans le but de compléter, d’approfondir ou de valoriser la recherche réalisée au Bureau fédéral du Plan dans le domaine des perspectives de transport en Belgique, le BFP participe à d’autres projets seul ou en collaboration avec des universités ou autres institutions de recherche.

Modèle de transport régional pour la Wallonie

En 2014, le Bureau fédéral du Plan a réalisé une étude de faisabilité d’un modèle régional de diagnostic prospectif de la demande de transport en Wallonie pour la Direction Générale Opérationnelle de la Mobilité et des Voies hydrauliques (DGO2).

Cette étude s’articule autour de trois tâches principales :

  • L’identification des besoins en données, la collecte ou le cas échéant la méthodologie de construction des données requises au niveau des arrondissements et/ou de la région;
  • L’identification et la description des paramètres à régionaliser dans le modèle national PLANET ;
  • Les adaptations méthodologiques nécessaires pour tenir compte des spécificités régionales et du niveau de désagrégation géographique par arrondissement.

PROLIBIC

Le projet PROLIBIC est un cluster de quatre projets sur le transport (PROMOCO, LIMOBEL, BIOSES AND CLEVER) financé par la Politique Scientifique fédérale dans le cadre du Programme de recherche « Sciences pour un développement durable – SSD – Transport and Mobility ». Les autres partenaires du projet PROLIBIC sont la Vlaamse Instelling voor Technologisch Onderzoek (VITO) (www.vito.be) et le Département MOSI-Transport en Logistiek de la Vrije Universiteit Brussel (VUB) (www.vub.ac.be/MOSI/).

Les principaux objectifs de ce projet sont les suivants :

  • rassembler et combiner les connaissances acquises dans le cadre des quatre projets de recherche PROMOCO (Professional mobility and company car ownership), LIMOBEL (Long-run impacts of policy packages on mobility in Belgium), BIOSES (Biofuels Sustainable End uSe) et CLEVER (Clean Vehicle Research: Life Cycle Analysis and Policy Measures). Cela concerne principalement les résultats relatifs à l’activité de transport et à l’impact sur l’environnement;
  • élaborer une projection de référence à long terme (2030) pour le transport de personnes et de fret ;
  • évaluer l’impact d’un assortiment de politiques de transport (développement des biocarburants et des voitures électriques, rapprochement des accises sur l’essence et le diesel, tarification au kilomètre) ;
  • étudier le lien entre voitures de société et considérations environnementales.

Le projet s’est terminé en septembre 2012. Le rapport final est disponible sur le site de la Politique scientifique fédérale (voir site internet).

LIMOBEL

LIMOBEL (Long run Impacts of policy packages on MObility in BELgium) est un projet financé par la Politique Scientifique fédérale dans le cadre du Programme de recherche « Sciences pour un développement durable – SSD – Transport and Mobility ». Les autres partenaires du projet LIMOBEL sont le Group Transport & Mobility des Facultés universitaires catholiques à Mons (www.fucam.ac.be/gtm) et la Vlaamse Instelling voor Technologisch Onderzoek (VITO) (www.vito.be).

Le projet LIMOBEL a pour objectif de développer un cadre pouvant être utilisé pour :

  • réaliser des projections à long terme des transports en Belgique;
  • analyser les effets à long terme de politiques sur la mobilité en Belgique, en ce compris les mesures relatives à la formation des prix, l’infrastructure et la réglementation;
  • réaliser une analyse coût-bénéfice sociale de ces mesures.

LIMOBEL porte sur trois domaines de recherche interdépendants : les transports et la mobilité, l’énergie et les questions environnementales. Les transports procurent de nombreux avantages mais sont aussi source de problèmes, les principaux étant la congestion, les accidents et les coûts environnementaux. Ces problèmes nécessitent une intervention des pouvoirs publics de sorte à rendre le système des transports plus durable.

Pour analyser ces questions, LIMOBEL se base sur deux approches. La première est de type équilibre partiel puisqu’elle n’englobe que le secteur des transports. Elle est dynamique et porte sur le long terme (horizon d’analyse jusqu’à 2030). Trois modèles existants ont été affinés et reliés les uns aux autres (PLANET, NODUS et E-MOTION). La seconde approche est de type équilibre général, elle est fondée sur les interactions entre le secteur des transports et le reste de l’économie. Dans le cadre de cette approche, un modèle appliqué d’équilibre général pour la Belgique et ses trois Régions est utilisé.

Le projet s’est terminé en janvier 2011. Le rapport final est disponible sur le site de la Politique scientifique fédérale (voir site internet).

MOBIDIC

Le projet MOBIDIC ou « Démographie, géographie et mobilité : perspectives à long terme et politiques pour un développement durable », est une étude financée par la Politique scientifique fédérale dans le cadre du Programme de recherche « modes de production et de consommation durables – PADDII ». Les autres partenaires du projet sont, pour l’UCL, le GéDAP (Groupe d’étude de Démographie Appliquée, voir site internet) et, pour les FUNDP, le GRT (Groupe de Recherche sur les Transports, voir site internet).

L’objectif de ce projet est triple :

  • analyser l’effet de l’évolution des facteurs géographiques, sociodémographiques et économiques sur les flux de transport de personnes et le choix modal en  Belgique;
  • réaliser des projections à long terme (2030) pour le transport de personnes entre les 43 arrondissements belges. Pour ce faire,  les facteurs mentionnés ci-dessus sont pris en compte, tout comme la contribution de chaque arrondissement à la production des flux de transport, ceci pour chaque motif de déplacement et chaque mode de transport ;
  • évaluer les émissions générées par le transport de personnes pour les projections.

Le projet s’est terminé en avril 2006. Le rapport final est disponible sur le site de la Politique scientifique fédérale (voir site internet).

Thème parent

Contact

  • http://transport.plan.be
Please do not visit, its a trap for bots