Page Title

Themes

The FPB’s studies cover 11 main themes: Energy, Environmental economic accounts and analyses, International economy, Labour market, Macroeconomic forecasts and analyses, Public finances, Sectoral accounts and analyses, Social protection, demography and prospective studies, Structural studies, Sustainable development, Transport.

Analyses and applications

Contact

  • http://eea.plan.be

Multinational groups in Belgium – Structure and economic activity [31/05/2022]

A macro-economic analysis of the activity of multinational groups is of particular interest for economic policy in a country like Belgium with a longstanding tradition of openness to foreign investment. This working paper combines a database of enterprise groups that are active in Belgium with industry-level data from the national accounts to show that multinational groups play an important role in the Belgian economy. Together, foreign affiliates and firms that are part of a Belgian multinational group account for more than 40% of GDP, 25% of total employment and 75% of exports.

Contact

  • http://eea.plan.be

The methodology behind the environmental economic accounts allows to link environmental data to economic data. As a result, the environmental economic accounts provide the ideal database for environmental economic analysis and the construction of indicators to monitor sustainable development policy targets. The demand for these types of analysis and indicators is clearly increasing worldwide, as more and more policy makers are becoming aware of the fact that imbalances in the environmental systems can put economic growth, well-being and development at risk. The European Commission actively supports environmental economic analysis by providing calculation tools to the EU member countries.

The Federal Planning Bureau has published several papers illustrating how the combination of environmental and economic data can lead to revealing insights. The Planning Papers series of the FPB contains several issues which give an overview of the environmental economic accounts that have been compiled for Belgium and provide the results of different applications of these accounts. A more detailed account of environmental economic analyses by the FPB can be found in the Working Paper series.

Over the past few years, the environmental economic analysis of the FPB has focused mainly on air emissions and energy use. These are some of the topics that were addressed: emission and energy intensities for both Belgian industries and households; the link of air emissions with offshoring; environmental leakage of air emissions through international trade; and the decomposition of the evolution of carbon dioxide emissions by the Belgian industries.

Contact

  • http://eea.plan.be
Please do not visit, its a trap for bots

Page Title

Thématiques

Les études réalisées par le BFP sont essentiellement articulées autour de 11 thèmes principaux : Comptes et analyses environnementaux, Comptes et analyses sectoriels, Développement durable, Economie internationale, Energie, Etudes structurelles, Finances publiques, Marché du travail, Perspectives et analyses macroéconomiques, Protection sociale, démographie et prospective, Transport.

Analyses et applications

Contact

  • http://eea.plan.be

Les groupes multinationaux en Belgique – Structure et activité économique [31/05/2022]

Une analyse macroéconomique de l’activité des groupes d’entreprises multinationaux revêt un intérêt particulier pour orienter les choix de politique économique dans une économie comme la Belgique avec une longue tradition d’ouverture aux investissements étrangers. En s’appuyant sur des statistiques macro-sectorielles et une base de données des groupes d’entreprises actifs en Belgique, cet article montre que les groupes multinationaux occupent une place importante dans l’économie belge : les entreprises belges faisant partie d’un groupe multinational belge et les filiales belges de multinationales étrangères représentent, ensemble, plus de 40 % du PIB, 25 % de l’emploi et 75 % des exportations.

Contact

  • http://eea.plan.be

La méthodologie utilisée pour construire les comptes économiques de l’environnement permet de relier les données environnementales aux données économiques. Par conséquent, les comptes économiques de l’environnement constituent une banque de données idéale pour mener des analyses économiques de l’environnement et développer des indicateurs permettant d’assurer le suivi des objectifs de développement durable.  La demande pour ce type d’analyses et d'indicateurs s’accroît nettement à l’échelle mondiale, les décideurs prenant progressivement conscience que les déséquilibres dans les systèmes environnementaux peuvent nuire à la croissance économique, au bien-être et au développement général. La Commission européenne soutient activement les analyses économiques de l’environnement en mettant des instruments de calcul à la disposition des États membres de l’UE.

Plusieurs études publiées par le Bureau fédéral du Plan démontrent que combiner données environnementales et économiques apporte de nouveaux éclairages. La série Planning Papers du BFP contient plusieurs publications qui donnent un aperçu des comptes économiques de l’environnement établis pour la Belgique et qui présentent les résultats des différentes applications de ces comptes. En outre, on trouvera dans la série Working Papers des publications offrant une description plus détaillée des analyses économiques de l’environnement réalisées par le BFP.

Ces dernières années, le BFP a principalement axé ses analyses économiques de l’environnement sur les émissions atmosphériques et la consommation d’énergie. Les sujets suivants y ont notamment été abordés : l’intensité en énergie et en émissions des branches de l’économie et des ménages belges ; le lien entre les émissions atmosphériques et les délocalisations ; les fuites environnementales des émissions atmosphériques suite aux échanges internationaux et la décomposition de l’évolution des émissions de dioxyde de carbone par les branches de l’économie belge.

Contact

  • http://eea.plan.be
Please do not visit, its a trap for bots