Page Title

Find & tools

The FPB offers several tools for searching the website: search engine, sitemap, JEL classification and keywords. In addition, this section also shows information on the use of cookies, our user charter and the possibility to file a complaint.

JEL classification

 JEL GuideLabor and Demographic EconomicsDemographic EconomicsDemographic Trends and Forecasts [J11]

 

  • Demographic Outlook 2018-2070 - Population and households [24/01/2019]

    The 2018-2070 demographic outlook presents the evolution of the population and households in Belgium from 2018 to 2070. The assumptions have been updated, taking into account new observations available, in particular population statistics as at 1 January 2018 and movements (births, deaths, internal and international migration) for 2017. The outlook also provides specific insight into medium-term fertility rates.

    EFPOP1870
     
  • What are the consequences of the AWG 2018 projections and hypotheses on pension adequacy? Simulations for three EU member states [29/06/2018]

    In preparation of the 2018 Pension Adequacy Report by the European Commission and the Social Protection Committee, teams from Belgium, Sweden and Italy use their microsimulation models to simulate the possible developments of pension adequacy while taking into account the set of economic and demographic projections developed by the AWG. The results of this exercise complement the AWG simulations of pension expenditures in a context of demographic. The results described in detail in this report were summarised in section 5.1.2. of the 2018 Pension Adequacy Report.

    REP_11732
     
  • Multiregional Population Projection Model at the EU level [08/06/2018]

    This paper explores the possibility of building a multiregional migration model at the EU level based on Eurostat statistics on migration by country of previous and next residence, by country of birth or by citizenship. These statistics are used to build a consistent origin-destination matrix for the EU Member States. In this case, ’consistent’ means that the sum of all intra-EU movements should be equal to 0. This matrix is then used to compute migration rates between EU countries, which can be inserted into a multiregional population projection model.

    This paper shows that the currently available official statistics on migration flows can be used to build a multiregional migration model at the EU level.  Although more developments should be implemented to test and improve the model, it produces promising results.

    WP 07-18
     
  • Population projections 2016-2060 : sensitivity analyses, alternative scenarios and budgetary and social impact [05/02/2018]

    This Working Paper analyses various alternative population projections. The first approach shows the impact of alternative future development scenarios for the population growth components. The effects of some of these scenarios on the development in social expenditure and the at-risk-of-poverty rate for pensioners are also analysed. The second approach consists in carrying out a sensitivity analysis of the population projection to some model parameters, in particular the observation periods selected to estimate trends.

    Working Paper 01-18
     
  • The population at risk of poverty or social exclusion in Belgium - Projection until 2030 [28/11/2016]

    This Working Paper presents, on the basis of information available until July 2016, a projection at unchanged policy until 2030 of the population at risk of poverty or social exclusion in Belgium, as defined in the framework of the Europe 2020 Strategy. This population should amount to 2.232 million people in 2018, or 418 000 more than the Europe 2020 target. By 2030, its share should shrink to 16.1%, still 5.6 percentage points higher than the goal resulting from the UN 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development.

    Working Paper 12-16
     
  • Projection of internal migration based on migration intensity and preferential flows [20/10/2016]

    This Working Paper presents the projection methodology for internal migration, which is integrated from 2016 in the population projections published by the Federal Planning Bureau and Statistics Belgium. The methodology is based on migration intensity between districts, rather than on emigration rates from one district to another. With migration intensity, not only is the population of the departure district taken into account (population at risk of moving) but also the population of the destination district (as a proxy for attractiveness). The short-term evolution of migration intensity is in line with the most recent trends observed in a series of preferential migration flows between districts. In the long term, migration intensity is assumed to be constant.

    Working Paper 10-16
     
  • On using dynamic microsimulation models to assess the consequences of the AWG projections and hypotheses on pension adequacy: Simulation results for Belgium, Sweden and Hungary  [27/05/2015]

    Since a couple of decades, the pension policy of member states is a focal point of attention on the European level. Securing financial sustainability by the AWG requires a prospective vision on ageing, labour market developments and social policy. But a sensible assessment of financial sustainability cannot do without taking into account the prospect ive development of pension adequacy. The SPC does this through prospective theoretical replacement rates and benefit ratios. However, prospective values of the key ISG indicators, such as the risk of poverty rate or the Gini are not available.

    REP_SIMUBESEHU0515
     
  • Modelling the future evolution of international migration for Belgium [18/03/2015]

    This Working Paper presents the methodological progress made in projecting international migration. The new methodology is notably based on an analysis of migration flows per nationality and on statistics on reasons for migrating, in order to assess whether economic variables constitute relevant determinants of migration. If they do, the impact of economic determinants on immigration is estimated using econometric methods. The methodology also takes into account the increasing globalization and mobility as well as the expected growth of the global population which boost international migration flows (immigration and emigration). Finally, it grants more stability to the long-term migration projections and, therefore, to the population projections; the annual revisions of long-term migration will be less dependent on the short-term evolution of migration flows.

    Working Paper 02-15
     
  • Une méthodologie de projection des ménages : le modèle HPROM (Household PROjection Model) [20/11/2014]

    This Working Paper presents the methodology the Federal Planning Bureau currently utilizes to draw up the Belgian household projections by 2060. This methodology allows for detailed projections of the number of households (at the district level) by household type and according to the factual situation and not the legal situation. Thus, the projections include the different forms of living arrangements, such as cohabitation, single-parent families, single households, etc. They also guarantee the coherence with the national population projections which have been published by the Federal Planning Bureau and the Directorate-General of Statistics for several years and are based on the so-called component method.

    Working Paper 09-14
     
  • Quotients de mortalité prospectifs par sexe et unisexes / Prospectieve sterftequotiënten per geslacht en uniseks [24/12/2009]

    Working Paper 18-09
     
  • Bevolkingsvooruitzichten 2007-2060
    Perspectives de population 2007-2060 [08/05/2008]

    Planning Paper 105
     
  • The AGIR project: Ageing, Health and Retirement in Europe - Bio-demographic aspects of ageing: Data for Belgium [05/09/2003]

    This Working Paper reflects the contribution of the fpb to the first work package of the agir project, organized by the Spanish fedea. It thoroughly studies the bio-demographic aspects of population ageing. The aim is to get a better understanding of the nature of ageing. Not only is it important to analyse how fast a population gets older, it is also important to see what effect age has on the population’s health and fitness, especially of the elderly.

    Working Paper 10-03
     
No records
Please do not visit, its a trap for bots

Page Title

Outils & infos

Le BFP met à votre dispositions quelques outils pour retrouver des informations sur le site : moteur de recherche, carte du site, classification et mots-clés. Par ailleurs, vous trouverez également les rubriques relatives à l'utilisation des cookies, notre charte de l'utilisateur ou la possibilité de formuler une plainte.

Classification JEL

 JEL GuideEmploi et économie démographiqueEconomie démographiqueTendances et prévisions démographiques [J11]

 

  • Perspectives démographiques 2018-2070 - Population et ménages [24/01/2019]

    Les perspectives démographiques 2018-2070 présentent l’évolution de la population et des ménages en Belgique de 2018 à 2070. Les hypothèses ont été mises à jour en tenant compte des nouvelles observations disponibles, en particulier les statistiques de population au 1er janvier 2018 et les statistiques de mouvements (naissances, décès, migrations internes et internationales) au cours de l’année 2017. Ces perspectives apportent également un éclairage spécifique sur la fécondité à moyen terme

    EFPOP1870
     
  • What are the consequences of the AWG 2018 projections and hypotheses on pension adequacy? Simulations for three EU member states [29/06/2018]

    Afin de préparer le « Pension Adequacy Report 2018 » par la Commission européenne et le Comité de la protection sociale (CPS), des équipes de la Belgique, de la Suède et de l’Italie ont collaboré pour simuler l’évolution possible de l’adéquation des pensions à l’aide de leurs modèles de microsimulation respectifs en tenant compte des scénarios et projections élaborés par l’AWG. Les résultats de cet exercice complètent les simulations de l’AWG concernant l’impact budgétaire du vieillissement. Les résultats de ce rapport sont décrits à la section 5.1.2 du « 2018 Pension Adequacy Report ».

    REP_11732
     
  • Multiregional Population Projection Model at the EU level [08/06/2018]

    Cette étude explore la possibilité de construire un modèle de projection multirégional au niveau de l’Union européenne à l’aide des statistiques d’Eurostat sur la migration.  Ces statistiques sont utilisées pour construire une matrice origine-destination cohérente pour les pays de l’Union européenne (UE). Cette cohérence requiert que la somme de tous mouvements intra-européens soit égale à 0. La matrice ainsi construite permet de calculer les taux de migration entre pays de l’UE, lesquels sont ensuite introduits dans un modèle de projection de population multirégional.

    Les résultats obtenus indiquent que les statistiques publiées par Eurostat sur la migration peuvent être utilisées pour construire un modèle multirégional au niveau de l’Union européenne. La méthodologie présentée dans ce working paper fournit en effet des résultats prometteurs qui nous encouragent à poursuivre les efforts de modélisation. 

    Working Paper 07-18
     
  • Perspectives démographiques 2016-2060 : analyses de sensibilité, scénarios alternatifs et effets budgétaires et sociaux [05/02/2018]

    Ce Working Paper analyse plusieurs variantes des projections démographiques. La première approche met en évidence l’impact de scénarios alternatifs d’évolution future des composantes de la croissance de la population. L’impact de certains de ces scénarios sur l’évolution des dépenses sociales et le taux de risque de pauvreté des pensionnés est également analysé. La seconde approche consiste à réaliser une analyse de sensibilité de la projection démographique à certains paramètres du modèle, en particulier les périodes d’observations retenues pour estimer des tendances futures.

    Working Paper 01-18
     
  • La population à risque de pauvreté ou d’exclusion sociale en Belgique - Projection jusqu’en 2030 [28/11/2016]

    Ce Working Paper présente, sur la base des informations disponibles jusqu’en juillet 2016, une projection, à politique inchangée jusqu'en 2030, de la population exposée à un risque de pauvreté ou d’exclusion sociale en Belgique, telle que définie dans le cadre de la stratégie Europe 2020. Cette population devrait avoisiner 2,232 millions de personnes en 2018, ce qui représente 418 000 personnes de plus que l’objectif de la stratégie Europe 2020. À l’horizon 2030, la part de cette population dans la population totale baisserait jusqu’à 16,1 %, mais dépasserait encore de 5,6 points de pourcentage l’objectif qui découlerait du Programme de développement durable à l’horizon 2030 des Nations unies.

    Working Paper 12-16
     
  • Projection of internal migration based on migration intensity and preferential flows [20/10/2016]

    Ce document de travail présente la méthodologie de projection utilisée pour les migrations internes, qui est intégrée depuis 2016 dans les perspectives de population publiées par le Bureau fédéral du Plan et la Direction générale Statistique. La méthodologie se fonde sur l’intensité migratoire entre arrondissements plutôt que sur les taux d’émigration d’un arrondissement à l’autre. En ce qui concerne l’intensité migratoire, non seulement la population de l’arrondissement de départ est prise en considération (population susceptible de migrer), mais également la population de l’arrondissement de destination (comme proxy de l’attractivité). L’évolution à court terme de l’intensité migratoire poursuit les dernières tendances observées pour les flux migratoires préférentiels entre arrondissements. L’intensité migratoire est supposée constante à long terme.

    Working Paper 10-16
     
  • On using dynamic microsimulation models to assess the consequences of the AWG projections and hypotheses on pension adequacy: Simulation results for Belgium, Sweden and Hungary  [27/05/2015]

    La Belgique, la Hongrie et la Suède ont simulé, grâce à leurs modèles de microsimulation dynamique, de possibles évolutions de l’adéquation des pensions tout en prenant en compte les projections et hypothèses de l’AWG. Les résultats présentés dans ce rapport conjoint montrent l’intérêt potentiel d’utiliser la microsimulation dynamique à l’échelle de l’UE. Ainsi, les simulations ont montré que l’accroissement de l’emploi des travailleurs âgés non seulement réduit les dépenses de pension mais limite aussi le risque de pauvreté parmi les personnes âgées.

    REP_SIMUBESEHU0515
     
  • Une modélisation de l’évolution future de la migration internationale pour la Belgique [18/03/2015]

    Ce Working Paper présente les avancées méthodologiques réalisées dans le cadre de l’évolution future de la migration internationale. La nouvelle méthodologie se base notamment sur une analyse des flux migratoires par nationalité et des statistiques relatives aux motifs de migration pour déterminer la pertinence de variables économiques comme déterminant de la migration. Dans l’affirmative, l’impact des déterminants économiques sur l’immigration est estimé à l’aide de méthodes économétriques. La méthodologie tient également compte d’un contexte de mondialisation et de mobilité à la hausse ainsi que d’une croissance attendue de la population mondiale qui favorisent les flux migratoires (immigration et émigration) internationaux. Enfin, elle rend les projections à long terme de la migration, et par conséquent de la population, plus stables ; les révisions annuelles de la migration à long terme seront moins dépendantes de l’évolution des flux migratoires de court terme.

    Working Paper 02-15
     
  • Une méthodologie de projection des ménages : le modèle HPROM (Household PROjection Model) [20/11/2014]

    Ce Working Paper présente la méthodologie utilisée actuellement par le Bureau fédéral du Plan pour l’élaboration des perspectives de ménages à l’horizon 2060 en Belgique. La méthodologie retenue permet de réaliser des projections détaillées du nombre de ménages (au niveau des arrondissements) selon le type de ménages, en fonction de la situation de fait et non de la situation de droit. Les perspectives intègrent ainsi les différentes formes de vie commune telles que la cohabitation, les familles monoparentales, les ménages isolés (« d’une personne »).... Elles assurent également la cohérence avec les projections nationales de population publiées par le Bureau fédéral du Plan et la Direction générale Statistique depuis plusieurs années et réalisées à l’aide de la méthode dite des composantes.

    Working Paper 09-14
     
  • Quotients de mortalité prospectifs par sexe et unisexes / Prospectieve sterftequotiënten per geslacht en uniseks [24/12/2009]

    La première partie de cette étude propose une révision de la méthode générale de construction des quotients de mortalité prospectifs pour les grands âges présentée dans le WP n°20 de 2004. Une attention particulière a été apportée à la sensibilité des résultats aux paramètres les plus importants. Une projection par sexe incorporant les nouvelles observations pour les années 2002 à 2007 est ensuite présentée.

    La seconde partie développe une méthode de calcul des quotients de mortalité prospectifs unisexes basée sur une répartition théorique de la population. Les résultats de la projection unisexe résultant de cette nouvelle méthode sont présentés et comparés à ceux obtenus pas la méthode classique.

    Working Paper 18-09
     
  • Perspectives de population 2007-2060 [08/05/2008]

    Cette publication n’a pas seulement pour objectif de présenter les principaux résultats de ce nouvel exercice de perspectives de population en précisant les hypothèses retenues. Elle vise également à communiquer les apports variés des membres du Comité scientifique d’accompagnement et, lorsqu’elles présentent un intérêt particulier, les analyses des observations récentes et des principales tendances qui sous-tendent les choix des hypothèses ainsi que les approches méthodologiques qui sont à la base de certaines d’entre elles. Il nous semble en effet que l’ensemble de ce matériel, qui couvre près de deux années de travail d’un grand nombre de personnes, peut intéresser le lecteur désireux d’en savoir plus sur les évolutions de la démographie en Belgique.

    Planning Paper 105
     
  • The AGIR project: Ageing, Health and Retirement in Europe - Bio-demographic aspects of ageing: Data for Belgium [05/09/2003]

    Working Paper 10-03
     
Aucun enregistrement
Please do not visit, its a trap for bots