Page Title

Publications

To promote transparency and provide information, the Federal Planning Bureau regularly publishes the methods and results of its works. The publications are organised in different series, such as Outlooks, Working Papers and Planning Papers. Some reports can be consulted here, along with the Short Term Update newsletters that were published until 2015. You can search our publications by theme, publication type, author and year.

Documents (473)

2022

  • Multinational groups in Belgium – Structure and economic activity 31/05/2022

    A macro-economic analysis of the activity of multinational groups is of particular interest for economic policy in a country like Belgium with a longstanding tradition of openness to foreign investment. This working paper combines a database of enterprise groups that are active in Belgium with industry-level data from the national accounts to show that multinational groups play an important role in the Belgian economy. Together, foreign affiliates and firms that are part of a Belgian multinational group account for more than 40% of GDP, 25% of total employment and 75% of exports.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 05-22  Publication(fr),

  • Primary work incapacity and disability of employees in Belgium: which explanatory factors? An analysis based on EU-SILC data 10/05/2022

    In the context of the significant increase in the number of beneficiaries of the health and disability insurance observed over the last 20 years in Belgium, we seek to develop an explanatory model for work incapacity and disability. On the basis of SILC data, we attempt to identify and prioritise the effects of different factors that may influence the probability of employees' transitions between socio-economic statutes, and in particular to and from primary incapacity and disability.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 04-22  Publication(fr),

  • The bottom-up HERMREG model – A multiregional model of the Belgian economy 03/02/2022

    This Working Paper describes the main characteristics of the multiregional bottom-up model, named HERMREG. This model is used by the Federal Planning Bureau (FPB) and its three regional partners in the HERMREG project (IBSA-BISA, IWEPS, Statistiek Vlaanderen) to analyse the short and medium-term impact of economic policies in the three Belgian regions. 

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 01-22  Publication(fr), Publicatie(nl),

2021

  • Bon vent: setting sail for a climate neutral Belgian energy system – Future Belgian offshore wind unravelled 18/10/2021

    This paper examines what role offshore wind can play in helping Belgium achieve climate neutrality by 2050. The Belgian Exclusive Economic Zone is limited and its exploitation for energy purposes cannot be extended indefinitely. Therefore, this paper looks at the development of joint hybrid offshore wind projects that both provide renewable energy capacity and can serve as interconnectors linking different countries. Two scenarios are defined and studied. They differ in the level of ambition for these hybrid hubs and the necessary electricity supply for a de-fossilised Belgian economy.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 08-21  Publication(en),

  • The evolution of the risk of poverty in Belgium among the population under 60 years of age 04/06/2021

    The first part of this Working Paper discusses the main trends in Belgium regarding the risk of poverty, compared to those in the EU27 and neighbouring countries. A second part shows that the increase in the risk of poverty in the population under 60 years can be partly attributed to an increase in the concentration of the lack of paid work in certain households. Also, social security benefits and social assistance benefits are less and less successful in raising jobless households above the poverty threshold.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 06-21  Publicatie(nl),

  • Business dynamism and productivity growth in Belgium 28/05/2021

    This paper considers the evolution in business dynamism and its potential link with productivity growth in Belgium. Statistics on business creation, the exit of enterprises and within-industry reallocation are presented. Data on Belgian firms, covering the period 2003-2017, are used for a decomposition of productivity growth. The paper provides robust indications of the substantial contribution of productivity growth of start-ups in the early years after entry.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 05-21  Publication(en),

  • Regional child benefit reforms – An impact analysis with the microsimulation model EXPEDITION 18/05/2021

    This Working Paper puts the policy choices made in the regional child benefit reforms into perspective. Using the microsimulation model EXPEDITION, the expected direct effects of these reforms on child benefit expenditure and income distribution are mapped out. Special attention is paid to the effects on the simulated poverty risk of (families with) children, as this was a shared concern during the reforms in the different regions.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 04-21  Publicatie(nl),

  • Analysis of the effect of the "first recruitments" measure on the survival of young businesses employing salaried staff 05/03/2021

    The "first recruitments"measure aims to promote employment while supporting small businesses and start-ups. The analysis shows that the measure has a positive but modest impact on the probability of survival of young businesses. Furthermore, the reinforcement in 2016 does not appear to have generated any additional benefit. On the one hand, these results imply that the strengthening of the measure does not address a genuine need on the part of the recipients. On the other hand, the reinforcement may have encouraged more employers to undertake a risky business activity.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 02-21  Publication(fr),

  • Household expenditure for transport: 2021 update 17/02/2021

    This working paper describes main evolutions in household expenditure for transport in Belgium. Results are based on data from national accounts (National Accounts Institute, Eurostat) as well as data from Household budget surveys (Statbel).

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 01-21  Publication(fr),

2020

  • Teleworking and transport demand: an assessment in the PLANET model 20/11/2020

    The aim of this study is to take a step back about teleworking as a tool to tackle mobility issues. Beyond the renewed interest in the public debate from which teleworking benefits, and its strong emphasis since the start of the COVID-19 epidemic, the aim here is to use reliable sources and proven models to identify the relationship between increased teleworking and decreased transport demand. To this end, the PLANET model of the Federal Planning Bureau has been adapted to explicitly take into account changes in this practice in its long-term projections.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 06-20  Publication(fr),

  • Fuel for the future - More molecules or deep electrification of Belgium's energy system by 2050 21/10/2020

    In this report, the Federal Planning Bureau sets out to scrutinise the place hydrogen can occupy in the future Belgian energy system by 2050. In fact, this publication focuses on two divergent evolutions of energy (end) uses: on the one hand, a far-reaching electrification of the final energy consumption, on the other, a sustained and increased use of gas for transport, (industrial) heating and power generation. Different outcomes of the two future visions are reported such as the required investments in infrastructure (interconnections, electrolysers, storage).

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 04-20  Publication(en),

  • Modelling fertility for national population projections - The case of Belgium 12/10/2020

    This Working Paper presents the methodology that has been applied since 2020 in the model used to draw up the population outlook for Belgium. The methodology considers that fertility is explained by both structural (education, labour market participation, etc.) and cyclical factors (the economic cycle, etc.). Those factors are taken into account through three elements: (1) expert opinion on long-term fertility trends, (2) an explicit trend in the fertility schedule and (3) the effect of cyclical and structural determinants of fertility using an error-correction model.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 03-20  Publication(en),

  • The PLANET Model : Methodological Report PLANET 4.0 27/02/2020

    PLANET is a model developed by the Belgian Federal PLANning Bureau that models the relationship between Economy and Transport. Its aim is to produce: (i) medium- and long-term projections of transport demand in Belgium, both for passenger and freight transport; (ii) simulations of the effects of transport policy measures; (iii) cost-benefit analyses of transport policy measures. This methodological report describes the main features of the PLANET model, and more specifically, the version 4.0 used for the transport outlook published in January 2019.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 01-20  Publication(en),

2019

  • Updating the 2010 Belgian interregional supply and use table - Towards a version compatible with ESA 2010 25/10/2019

    This paper describes the methodology to make the existing interregional supply and use table (ISUT) of 2010 compatible to ESA2010/SNA2008 rules and shows the results at a macro level. The ISUT describes, for each product and industry, all intra- and interregional flows caused by the intermediate use, final consumption expenditures, investments and exports of the three Belgian regions Brussels, Flanders and Wallonia. 

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 10-19  Publication(en),

  • The cost of traffic congestion in Belgium 06/09/2019

    This paper seeks to quantify the cost of the most important inefficiencies in Belgian transport taxation. To this end we calculate the welfare gain of an ideal, optimal tax/subsidy system across the transport market as a whole (i.e. considering private road traffic in conjunction with public transport). We found the total welfare gain to be 2.3 billion euros, of which 1.3 billion are due to time gains of remaining road users. Our measure lies significantly above those found in the literature, since we consider the distortion cause by a wide range of subsidies.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 09-19  Publication(en), Publication(fr), Publicatie(nl),

First page Previous page 1 of 19  Next page Last page
Please do not visit, its a trap for bots

Page Title

Publications

Dans un souci de transparence et d’information, le BFP publie régulièrement les méthodes et résultats de ses travaux. Les publications sont organisées en séries, entre autres, les perspectives, les working papers et planning papers. Certains rapports peuvent également être consultés ici, de même que les bulletins du Short Term Update publiés jusqu’en 2015. Une recherche par thématique, type de publication, auteur et année vous est proposée.

Documents (473)

2022

  • Les groupes multinationaux en Belgique – Structure et activité économique 31/05/2022

    Une analyse macroéconomique de l’activité des groupes d’entreprises multinationaux revêt un intérêt particulier pour orienter les choix de politique économique dans une économie comme la Belgique avec une longue tradition d’ouverture aux investissements étrangers. En s’appuyant sur des statistiques macro-sectorielles et une base de données des groupes d’entreprises actifs en Belgique, cet article montre que les groupes multinationaux occupent une place importante dans l’économie belge : les entreprises belges faisant partie d’un groupe multinational belge et les filiales belges de multinationales étrangères représentent, ensemble, plus de 40 % du PIB, 25 % de l’emploi et 75 % des exportations.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 05-22  Publication(fr),

  • Les charges administratives en Belgique pour l’année 2020 30/03/2022

    À la demande du Conseil des ministres et en collaboration avec l’Agence pour la simplification administrative (asa), le Bureau fédéral du Plan est chargé d’estimer le montant des charges administratives pesant sur les entreprises et les indépendants en Belgique. Cette estimation est basée sur la technique de l’enquête auprès d’un échantillon représentatif de la population à étudier. En plus de la dimension quantitative, l’enquête contient aussi un important volet qualitatif permettant de rendre compte de l’opinion des entreprises et des indépendants sur la problématique des charges administratives. Ce Planning Paper présente les résultats de l’enquête portant sur les charges administratives de l’année 2020.

    Planning & Working Papers - Planning paper 118  Publication(fr), Publicatie(nl),

  • Évaluation de l’impact du contrat d’insertion en Région de Bruxelles-Capitale 22/03/2022

    Cette étude a été faite en collaboration avec l’Institut Bruxellois de Statistique et d’Analyse (IBSA). Le contrat d’insertion est un dispositif d’aide à l’emploi dont le public cible est composé de jeunes chercheurs d’emploi éloignés du marché du travail. Cette étude d’impact évalue si le contrat d’insertion permet effectivement à ses bénéficiaires de s’insérer dans l’emploi de façon permanente. Nous utilisons un modèle de durée couplé en amont à un modèle d’appariement dynamique.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 03-22  Publication(fr), Publicatie(nl),

  • Le modèle HERMREG bottom-up - Un modèle multirégional de l’économie belge 03/02/2022

    Ce Working Paper décrit les principales caractéristiques du modèle macrosectoriel multirégional de moyen terme HERMREG bottom-up. Ce modèle est utilisé par le Bureau fédéral du Plan (BFP) et ses trois partenaires régionaux du projet HERMREG (IBSA-BISA, IWEPS, Statistiek Vlaanderen) pour analyser l’impact à court et moyen terme de politiques économiques des trois Régions belges.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 01-22  Publication(fr), Publicatie(nl),

2021

  • Bon vent: setting sail for a climate neutral Belgian energy system – Future Belgian offshore wind unravelled 18/10/2021

    Cette étude analyse le rôle que l'éolien offshore peut jouer pour aider la Belgique à atteindre la neutralité climatique d'ici 2050. La zone économique exclusive belge est limitée et son exploitation à des fins énergétiques ne peut être étendue indéfiniment. Par conséquent, le développement de projets conjoints hybrides d’énergie éolienne offshore a été étudié. Ces projets fournissent à la fois une capacité d'énergies renouvelables et peuvent servir d'interconnecteurs reliant différents pays. Deux scénarios ont été définis et étudiés. Ils se distinguent par l’envergure de ces hubs hybrides et l’offre d'électricité nécessaire à une économie belge défossilisée.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 08-21  Publication(en),

  • L’évolution du risque de pauvreté de la population de moins de 60 ans en Belgique 04/06/2021

    La première partie de ce Working Paper examine les principales tendances en Belgique concernant le risque de pauvreté, par rapport à celles de l'UE27 et des pays voisins. Une deuxième partie montre que l'augmentation du risque de pauvreté de la population de moins de 60 ans peut être en partie attribuée à un accroissement de la concentration du manque d’emploi rémunéré dans certains ménages. En outre, les prestations de sécurité sociale et d'assistance sociale perçues par les ménages sans emploi parviennent de moins en moins à relever les revenus de ces ménages au-dessus du seuil de pauvreté.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 06-21  Publicatie(nl),

  • Business dynamism and productivity growth in Belgium 28/05/2021

    Cette étude examine l'évolution du dynamisme entrepreneurial et son lien éventuel avec la croissance de la productivité en Belgique. Des statistiques sur la création d'entreprises, le retrait d'entreprises et la redistribution de la production entre entreprises au sein des branches d’activité sont présentées. Des données sur les entreprises belges, couvrant la période 2003-2017, sont utilisées pour décomposer la croissance de la productivité. Cette étude fournit des indications probantes d’une contribution substantielle des start-up dans les premières années de leur création à la croissance de la productivité des branches d’activité.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 05-21  Publication(en),

  • Réformes régionales des allocations familiales – Une analyse d’impact avec le modèle de microsimulation EXPEDITION 18/05/2021

    Ce Working paper met en perspective les choix de politique posés lors des réformes régionales des allocations familiales. Les effets directs attendus de ces réformes sur les dépenses d’allocations familiales et la distribution des revenus sont estimés à l'aide du modèle de microsimulation EXPEDITION. Cette étude accorde une attention particulière aux effets sur le risque de pauvreté simulé des (familles avec) enfants puisque les différentes Régions partageaient cette préoccupation au moment des réformes.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 04-21  Publicatie(nl),

  • Les dépenses fiscales pour les pensions du deuxième pilier en Belgique - Un chiffrage de la subvention publique aux pensions complémentaires des salariés et des indépendants 11/05/2021

    Le débat sur le coût budgétaire des pensions porte surtout sur les pensions légales, tandis que celui des pensions complémentaires, qui gagnent sans cesse en importance, suscite peu d’intérêt. Pourtant, la progression des pensions complémentaires, à l’instar de celle des pensions légales, a des répercussions majeures sur les finances publiques. En effet, les pensions complémentaires bénéficient d’un régime (para)fiscal favorable qui, donc, amoindrit les recettes fiscales. Dans ce rapport, nous calculons pour la première fois l'impact total sur les finances publiques des subventions fiscales et parafiscales aux pensions du deuxième pilier. 

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 03-21  Publicatie(nl),

  • Analyse des effets de la mesure "premiers engagements" sur la survie des jeunes entreprises qui emploient des salariés 05/03/2021

    La mesure "premiers engagements" vise à promouvoir l’emploi en soutenant les nouvelles et petites entreprises. L’analyse montre que la mesure a un effet positif mais modeste sur la probabilité de survie des jeunes entreprises. De plus, le renforcement en 2016 ne semble pas générer de gain additionnel. D’une part, ces résultats laisseraient supposer que l’extension des modalités ne répondait pas à un vrai besoin des bénéficiaires. D’autre part, le renforcement aurait pu inciter un plus grand nombre d’employeurs à se lancer dans une activité risquée.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 02-21  Publication(fr),

  • Les dépenses de transport des ménages - Actualisation 2021 17/02/2021

    Ce working paper décrit les principales évolutions des dépenses de consommation des ménages en Belgique pour la fonction de transport. Plusieurs sources de données sont exploitées : d’une part, les données issues des comptes nationaux sur les dépenses de consommation finale des ménages (ICN, Eurostat) et, d’autre part, les résultats des enquêtes sur le budget des ménages (Statbel).

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 01-21  Publication(fr),

2020

  • Télétravail et demande de transport : une évaluation dans le modèle PLANET 20/11/2020

    L’objectif de cette étude est de prendre un certain recul sur le sujet du télétravail comme outil de gestion des problématiques de mobilité. Au-delà du regain d’intérêt dans le débat public dont le télétravail bénéficie, et de sa forte mise en avant depuis le début de l’épidémie de COVID-19, il s’agit ici d’objectiver au moyen de sources fiables et de modèles éprouvés les relations entre augmentation du télétravail et diminution de la demande de transport. A cet effet, le modèle PLANET du Bureau Fédéral du Plan a été adapté pour pouvoir explicitement tenir compte d’évolutions de cette pratique dans ses projections à long terme.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 06-20  Publication(fr),

  • Fuel for the future - More molecules or deep electrification of Belgium's energy system by 2050 21/10/2020

    Dans ce rapport, la place que l’hydrogène pourrait occuper dans le futur système énergétique de la Belgique d’ici 2050 est examinée. Ce rapport se concentre plus particulièrement sur deux évolutions contrastées des usages (finaux) de l’énergie : d’une part, une forte électrification de la consommation finale d’énergie, d’autre part, une augmentation soutenue du recours au gaz pour les transports, les besoins de chaleur (industrielle) et la production d’électricité. Il décrit différents résultats de deux visions d’avenir, notamment sur le plan des investissements nécessaires dans les infrastructures (les interconnexions, les électrolyseurs, le stockage).

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 04-20  Publication(en),

  • Modélisation de la fécondité dans les projections de population – Le cas de la Belgique 12/10/2020

    Ce Working Paper présente la méthodologie qui est appliquée depuis 2020 dans le modèle utilisé pour élaborer les perspectives de population pour la Belgique. Cette méthodologie considère que la fécondité est déterminée à la fois par des facteurs structurels (la formation, la participation au marché du travail, etc.) et conjoncturels (le cycle économique, etc.).  Ces facteurs sont pris en compte par le biais de trois canaux : (1) l’avis d’experts sur l’évolution à long terme de la fécondité, (2) l’évolution du calendrier de la fécondité et (3) les effets de déterminants conjoncturels et structurels de la fécondité estimés à l’aide d’un modèle à correction d’erreur.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 03-20  Publication(en),

  • The PLANET Model : Methodological Report PLANET 4.0 27/02/2020

    PLANET est un modèle développé par le Bureau fédéral du PLAN qui modélise la relation entre l’Economie et le Transport. Son objectif est d’élaborer une projection à long terme de la demande de transport de personnes et de marchandises en Belgique, de simuler les effets de politiques de transport et de réaliser des analyses coûts-bénéfices de ces politiques de transport. Ce rapport méthodologique décrit les principales caractéristiques du modèle PLANET et, plus particulièrement, la version 4.0 utilisée pour les perspectives de la demande de transport publiées en janvier 2019.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 01-20  Publication(en),

2019

  • Exportations, hétérogénéité des entreprises et emploi en Belgique : une analyse entrées-sorties 27/12/2019

    Dans cette étude, l’emploi lié directement et indirectement aux exportations est estimé sur base d’un tableau entrées-sorties hétérogène en termes d’exportations. Dans ce tableau, les branches de la manufacture sont désagrégées selon l’intensité d’exportation des entreprises pour tenir compte de différences dans leurs processus de production. Les résultats montrent que 1,32 million d’emplois en Belgique étaient liés aux exportations en 2010, soit 29,5 % de l’emploi total

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 11-19  Publication(fr),

  • Updating the 2010 Belgian interregional supply and use table - Towards a version compatible with ESA 2010 25/10/2019

    Le présent WP décrit la méthodologie suivie pour rendre les tableaux des ressources et des emplois (TRE) interrégionaux de 2010 compatibles avec les règles du système européen des comptes 2010 (SEC 2010) et présente les résultats au niveau macro. Les tableaux TRE interrégionaux décrivent, pour les trois régions et chaque branche et produit, les flux intra- et interrégionaux liés à la production, la consommation intermédiaire, les dépenses de consommation finale, les investissements et les exportations.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 10-19  Publication(en),

  • Le coût de la congestion du trafic en Belgique 06/09/2019

    Ce rapport vise à quantifier le coût d’efficacité du système fiscal actuel du transport en Belgique en calculant les gains en termes de bien-être d’un système optimal de taxes / subventions (c’est-à-dire en considérant le trafic routier privé en liaison avec les transports publics). Nous avons estimé que le gain en bien-être total s'élevait à 2,3 milliards d'euros, dont 1,3 milliard de gains en temps pour les usagers de la route. Une partie importante de ce gain provient d’une diminution des distorsions provoquées par un large éventail de subventions.

    Planning & Working Papers - WP 09-19  Publication(en), Publication(fr), Publicatie(nl),

First page Previous page 1 de 19  Next page Last page
Please do not visit, its a trap for bots